Our Email

All-Ireland Finals

Best of luck to Niall O’Meara, Cian Darcy, Jerome Cahill and both Tipperary teams in the All-Ireland finals. Thanks to all parishioners who are flying the colours. Everybody is urged to get the blue and gold flags out.


MacDonaghs recorded a 1-14 to 0-13 victory over Burgess in Dolla. Unfortunately, results elsewhere didn’t fall in our favour and qualification is now out of reach. The  final group game against Borris-Ileigh is unlikely to be played as both teams are out of the championship.  Despite the absence of a  number of players, MacDonaghs played with great spirit in this game and thoroughly deserved their victory. The Magpies had a slender one-point lead at the interval with the score 0-8 to 0-7 in their favour. They dominated possession in the first half and continued to do so on the turnover. A goal from Caoilainn Conroy fourteen minutes into the second half was the crucial score in the game and helped MacDonaghs go into a seven-point lead. As darkness descended,  Burgess put on tremendous pressure in the closing minutes, but the Kilruane defence held firm. Team: Niall Shinners, Colm Williams, Pat Williams, Brendan McAdams, Bob Dooley, Declan Barrett (0-4), Cormac Williams, Alan Darcy (0-1), Conor Austin (0-1), Eoin Williams (0-1), Robert Austin, Liam Gibson (0-5), Caoilainn Conroy (1-0), Kevin Ryan (0-1) and Conor Doheny (0-1). Subs: Paddy Ryan and Tom Dooley. Thanks to the players and management for their efforts during the year.

Under 16

Kilruane MacDonaghs will play Borris-Ileigh in the quarter-final in Borrisoleigh on Friday, 6th September at 6.30pm.

Intercounty Juvenile

Sean McAdams was on the Tipperary U16 ‘B’ team that defeated Cork in the final of the Arrabawn tournament. Mark O’Neill lined out on the ‘A’ team. Kian O’Kelly was a member of the Tipperary U15 ‘A’ team that played in the Carrigdoun tournament.  Páidí Williams lined out on the Tipperary U14 ‘B’ team that reached the semi-final of the Sonny Walsh tournament in Waterford. Craig Morgan was part of the Tipperary U17 squad that reached the Plate final in mallow. Unfortunately, Craig was injured and was unable to play.

Under 12

The panel travelled by bus to Semple Stadium to take part in the Munster Hurling Blitz. MacDonaghs played Killeagh (Cork), Abbeyside (Waterford), Aghabullogue (Cork) and Cios Laoi Gaels (Effin & Staker Wallace, Limerick). After the matches the players were taken on a tour of Semple Stadium by Tipperary hurler Michael Breen. Thanks to Michael who answered all questions, signed autographs and posed for photos. On the way home there was a pit stop for refreshments at the Obama Plaza. Thanks to the coaches Michael O’Meara and John O’Meara and our helpers Ann O’Meara, Regina Dervan and Collette Coonan.  Team: Tom Austin, Danny Cahalan, Eoin Carroll, Eamon Coonan, Thomas Coonan, Conal Daly, Zack Dervan, Cathal England, Lynn Farrell, Niamh Franks, Jack Gleeson, Sean Hayes, Jack Mulcahy, Aisling Nevin, Brian O’Meara, Gráinne O’Meara, Eoin O’Neill, David Persse, John Quinlisk, Jack Ryan, Darragh Spillane and Oisín Williams.

Under 8

On last Saturday morning a very successful mini Blitz took place in glorious sunshine in MacDonagh Park. Borrisokane, Ballinahinch and Kilruane MacDonaghs participated.

Club History

Thanks to all who became patrons. 138 patrons have pledged €7,570 — €5,520 has already been collected. We had a phenomenal response with contributions from Arizona, Chicago, Perth, Kilkenny, Dublin, Cork, Clare, Wicklow, Kildare, Laois, Galway, Shannon Rovers, Burgess, Lorrha, Nenagh, Moneygall, Holycross and all corners of the parish. “Kilruane MacDonaghs 1970-2013 Heirs to a Proud Tradition,” a 560 page hardback publication with 442 photos has now gone to print and will be launched by Len Gaynor on Friday, 14th October.