Our Email


On this Sunday MacDonaghs take on Kiladangan in the North Final in Nenagh at 2.30pm as they seek to bring the title to the parish for the 19th time. Nobody outside our borders is giving the team a chance but we have shown in the past that when our backs are to the wall we can rise to the occasion. During the season the side has suffered a horrendous catalogue of injuries that would have demoralised a less experienced management team. Despite all the obstacles that had to be surmounted we have reached the North final and remain in contention in the County championship. Nobody in the camp is under any illusion about the magnitude of the task that lies ahead on Sunday and all are very aware that nothing less a performance of ferocious controlled fury will carry the day. Kiladangan are a formidable outfit and justifiably carry the mantle of red-hot favourites into this encounter. Billy O’Shea and his management team have left no stone unturned in preparing for this massive challenge. The team is primed for one almighty performance and hopefully they can deliver that and the result will look after itself. Thanks to all our supporters who have flown the colours. Seeing the black and white flying proudly in the breeze gives a great lift to all involved with the team. We need our supporters more than ever on Sunday. We need to see and HEAR you on in Nenagh to drive the boys over the line in ONE UNITED PARISH EFFORT.       


Under 21.

Jerome Cahill is one of Tipperary’s nine nominees on the Bord Gáis Energy team of the year. Jerome is nominated for the centre-forward spot.



A point from Devlin Courtney in the 65th minute saw MacDonaghs pip Silvermines to claim the North ‘B’ title on a 0-12 to 0-11 scoreline in Nenagh. This was the second occasion to win this particular title. The first victory was in 1975. In that year all teams played in the first round of the championship with the losers then competing for the Nealon Trophy. Of course, MacDonaghs have

won the ‘A’ title on eight occasions (1952, 1964, 1971, 1972, 1973, 2004, 2005 & 2006). This latest success was as sweet any of the previous triumphs.  “It was a typical MacDonaghs performance,” commented one former player as he lauded the team’s desire to win and their stubborn refusal to accept what looked like an inevitable defeat in the dying minutes. Nobody typified this desire more than captain Sean McAdams who overcame the disappointment of missing a crucial penalty to carry the fight to Silvermines in the closing stages as he had done from the first minute.

Against the favourites MacDonaghs had the first use of the fresh breeze and it looked like a minimum interval-lead of four or five points would be required. However, it was a half in which defences dominated. Páidí Williams and Mark O’Neill excelled in the heart of the Magpies defence and keeper Kevin McDonald made two great saves to deny Silvermines certain green flags. The game was over five minutes old before Paddy Hayes fired over the opening point and two minutes later the impressive Devlin Courtney raised his first white flag of the day. With nineteen minutes gone Silvermines tied the game at 0-2 each. Both sides swopped a brace of points to leave the sides level at the break. Deep into injury time David O’Sullivan was upended in the penalty area but the referee saw no infringement and awarded a free out. From a MacDonaghs point of view it was a far from healthy-looking scoreboard. However, all was calm in the dressing room at the break. Earlier in the championship in the face of adversity this team had had already retrieved what looked like lost causes against both Borrisokane and Burgess with rousing second half displays.  

On the resumption Silvermines took the lead for the first time when Oisín Murphy converted a free in the opening minute of the half and the dice seemed to be firmly loaded in favour of the favourites. Sean McAdams was on target with a free in the 36th minute. David O’Sullivan intercepted the resultant puck out and split the posts. Sean McAdams was unerring with another free and MacDonaghs were two ahead. With 52 minutes gone the teams were level on nine points each and it was a battle royal for supremacy. A pointed free by Oisín Murphy edged Silvermines in front. Kian O’Kelly fielded a long delivery inside the large square and was hauled to the ground. Penalty! Sean McAdams went for the corner of the net but his effort flew wide. To rub salt into the wounds Silvermines went down the field and Aaron Ryan scored what looked like their insurance and it appeared MacDonaghs ship had sailed. It was then that the team showed their true mettle. The inspirational Sean McAdams, undaunted by his penalty miss, reduced the gap to the minimum with his first point from play. In the 64th minute Páidí Williams put over a magnificent long-range free and extra time looked inevitable. Two minutes later Devlin Courtney pounced on a breaking ball in front of goal to slot over the winning point. A defiant victory against the odds. After the game Mike Flynn, Chairman of the North Tipperary Board, presented the Cup to captain Sean McAdams amid scenes of great joy among the large MacDonaghs support. 

Team: Kevin McDonald, Louis Kennedy, Páidí Williams (0-1 free), Aaron Morgan, Niosa Minogue, Mark O’Neill, Owen Usman, Sean McAdams (0-6, 0-5 from frees), Shane McAteeer, Matthew Spain, David O’Sullivan (0-1), Kian O’Kelly, Devlin Courtney (0-3), Eoin England and Paddy Hayes (0-1). Subs: James Loughnane, Fionnan Minogue and Com Cleary. Remainder of panel: Eoin O’Meara, Barry Shanahan, Oisín Carroll and Paul O’Neill.

Congratulations to the entire panel, manager Damian Mulcahy, coach Niall O’Meara, selectors John Quinlan and Eanna Hogan & physio June Whelan. In the County semi-final Mid champions Drom & Inch will be our opponents. Thanks to Silvermines for a great game. They were very gracious in defeat.

2018 North Minor B Hurling Champions


Under 14

A 3-8 to 3-5 victory over Cahir in Boherlahan secured a place in the County ‘B’ final. MacDonaghs trailed by a point at the break but dug deep in the second half to come out on top. Oisín Williams helped himself to 2-2, Eoin Carroll fired over four points, Jack Mulcahy raised a green flag while Jack Gleeson and Tristan Madden chipped in with a point each. On this Saturday, 15th September they take on Arravale Rovers in the final in Borrisoleigh at 12.30pm. Your support would be appreciated.  


Under 11 Plate

MacDonaghs (Bán) overcame Borris-Ileigh on a 3-8 to 2-8 scoreline in Ardcroney while MacDonaghs (Dubh) also recorded a victory over Borris-Ileigh.


U10 & U9

We had a early start Sunday morning as we headed to Craughwell. Our U10s played three group games, winning two. This set up a final against the home team. After a great battle MacDonaghs had four points to spare at the final whistle. The U9s also played three group games, finishing with a 100% record. This gave us a final meeting with Newmarket-on-Fergus from Clare. A great display by all the panel saw MacDonaghs emerge victorious. This was a great experience for the boys, playing against teams from different counties. A big thank you to all the parents that travelled to support. Thanks to Craughwell for a very well-organised tournament. 



The club extends sympathy to the Ryan family, Newtown on the death of Sally Ryan (née Ryan), Burgess, Carrigatoher.