Our Email


In the final group game in Junior ‘C’, we played out a draw with Borris-IIeigh in MacDonagh Park. We put 0-16 on the scoreboard in reply to 2-10 from the visitors. We led by 0-9 to 1-3 at the break and with fifty-four minutes gone were two points in front. Borris-Ileigh struck for a goal and a point to edge two ahead. Points from Pat Williams and David O’Sullivan left the teams level at the final whistle. The result of the Borris-Ileigh and Silvermines game next Saturday will determine our fate in this competition.

Team: Alan Quinlan, Eoin O’Meara, Fergus England, Cormac Williams, Sean Hayes, Shane Williams, Stephen Cleary, Finnian Mannion, Diarmuid Cahill (0-1 65), David O’Sullivan (0-4), Pat Williams (0-4),  Nathan Lynch (0-3), David Williams (0-3, 0-1 free), Louis Kennedy, Conor Quinlan. Subs: Shane Whelan, Paul O’Neill, Brian Banaghan. One point unaccounted for.



In the football quarter-final, we will play Roscrea in MacDonagh Park on Sunday, 12th November at 2.00pm.



In the County ‘B’ football semi-final, we lost 3-16 to 2-7 against a powerful Knockavilla side in Templederry. The West champions made a blistering start and led by 2-4 to 0-1 after the first quarter. The situation could have been worse but two brilliant saves by Johnny Naughnane averted certain goals. Green flags from Michael Cleary and Andrew Hayes brought us right back into the contest, and we trailed by 2-7 to 2-4 at the interval. At the end of the third quarter, Knockavilla had a five-point advantage. Their third goal in the forty-ninth minute put them in the driving seat, and they were deserving winners. Thanks to the players and management for their efforts in both hurling and football during the year.

Team: Johnny Naughnane, Simon Austin, Danny Cahalan, Sean Hayes, Paul Molloy, Eamonn Coonan, Shane Cleary, Cian Moyles, Cathal England, Tristan Madden, Eoin Carroll (0-1), Andrew Hayes,                                                                                                                                           Michael Hennelly (0-2), Michael Cleary (0-3, 0-1 free), Brian O’Meara. Subs: Tommy Burriss ( 0-1), Cian Hayes.



In the ‘A’ Plate Final against Silvermines, we came out the wrong end of a 6-14 to 5-14 scoreline in MacDonagh Park.  The visitors led by 4-6 to 3-8 at the break. MacDonaghs were two points ahead with fifty-three minutes gone. A goal from a Silvermines penalty a minute later proved to be the turning point of the game. It was a great effort by the team in a tremendous contest. Congratulations to Silvermines on their victory.

Team: Dara Gaynor, Conor McGrath, Kallen Grace, James Gould, Stasik Setikas, Cormac Kennedy (0-2), Tommy Gaynor, Tommy O’Meara, Gerard  O’Looney (1-0), Charlie Kennedy (1-5, 0-3 frees), Hugo Healy (2-2), Paraic Nevin, Shay Óg Kennedy (1-0), Andrew Austin (0-2), Arman Khan Wahid. Subs: Tadhg Teefey, Emmet Dwyer, Oisín Carroll, Jack O’Meara (0-2), Culann Haverty, Karl Ryan, Lukah Williams.



In the Festival of Hurling in Dolla, we overcame Toomevara in the final 7-4. Victories over Roscrea  8-5 and Toomevara  2-1, plus a draw with Ballina 6-6, had secured a place in the final. In this competition goals and points were equal. Captain Tommy Gaynor was presented with the trophy by referee Brendan Ryan. Panel: Dara Gaynor, Kallen Grace, Tadhg Teefey, Conor McGrath, Mark Cleary, Tommy Gaynor, James Gould, Lukah Williams, Jack O’Meara, Tarla Doris, Hugo Healy, Tom Campbell, Emmet Dwyer, Senan O’Leary, Oisín Carroll, Karl Ryan, Arman Khan Wahid, Culann Haverty, Dylan Hussey Sheahan, Ronan Hayes, Shane O’Meara. Gerard of O’Looney was unable to play due to a broken thumb.



This group finished the season with their presentation night on the Astro Turf last Friday. Thanks to Craig Morgan and Niall O’Meara who were on hand to make the presentations. Thanks to all the coaches for their commitment during the year, and thanks to the parents for their support.


Tipperary Draw

Congratulations to Bill Cleary, Ballyluskey, Ardcroney, who won €500 in the October Draw.



The jackpot next week will be €4,400. Tickets are available from the usual outlets, or you can play on Club Spot. Thanks for your continued support.



The weekly Bingo session continues on Saturday night in the Fr. O’Meara Centre, Kilruane at 8.00pm. The jackpot now stands at €1,500.


Friends of MacDonaghs

“Friends of MacDonaghs” is aimed at enabling supporters of the club to contribute to the ongoing success and development of our club and teams. We have devised a number of options, all aimed at making the initiative accessible to businesses and individuals across our community and further afield. We have had a great response so far, and the signs will soon be going up on the stand.

One of the key features of the Friends of MacDonaghs initiative is that we will, as a club and as a community, be backing ourselves. Our jerseys, and all club gear will be re-branded with the ‘’ logo, and with our new club motto ‘One Club, One Community’. Contact any committee member for further details or email

Further information about the various packages on offer can be found at



The club extends sympathy to the Peter Prout and family on the death of Billy Prout, Dublin and formerly Ballinderry.