Our Email


MacDonaghs lost out to Borris-Ileigh in the third round of the League in Borrisoleigh on a 2-22 to 0-15 scoreline. On a perfect day for hurling both sides lined out without a number of regulars. The Magpies were short five outfield players that started against Silvermines: Niall O’Meara, Cian Darcy, Craig Morgan, Kieran Cahill and Kian O’Kelly while Jerome Cahill and Thomas Cleary were also absentees. Conor Doheny started in goals. MacDonaghs opened brightly and were 0-3 to 0-0 ahead after three minutes. Borris-Ileigh soon found their feet and drew level. There was very little between the teams in the opening half. A goal by Borris-Ileigh in the 21st minute was the crucial score of the half and left them 1-8 to 0-9 ahead at the interval.

Seamus Hennessy was selected at full-forward and was a constant threat on the edge of the square. Unfortunately, with MacDonaghs struggling on the half-forward line and midfield Seamus had to be brought out. Justin Cahill was majestic at centre-back in the opening thirty minutes while Jack Peters was very solid at full-back. Borris-Ileigh took a grip of the game in the second half and a goal in the 40th minute put them eight points ahead and firmly in the driving seat. MacDonaghs challenge faded against a team that look like they will be in the shake-up for honours. The Magpies will seek to bounce back with a victory against Moycarkey in MacDonagh Park on Sunday at 12.00. With Seamus Hennessy and Ray McLoughney also unavailable next weekend resources will be stretched to the limit. However, this is a huge opportunity for fringe players to stake a claim for a regular place on the starting fifteen

Team: Conor Doheny, Conor Austin, Jack Peters, Ray McLoughney, Eanna Hogan, Justin Cahill, Eoin Hogan (0-1), Sean McAdams, Darragh Peters (0-1), Caoilainn Conroy, Conor Cleary (0-3), Mark O’Neill, Conor Lillis (0-2), Seamus Hennessy (0-8, 0-6 from placed balls) and James Cleary. Sub: Luke Dervan.



A 1-15 to 2-9 home loss against Knockshegowna in the League effectively ends qualification hopes. Against the breeze goals from Declan Barrett (7th minute) and Mark O’Neill (31st minute) put us in a relatively good position at the interval with the score 0-12 to 2-4 in favour of the visitors. However, MacDonaghs failed to kick on in the second half and a Knockshegowna goal from a penalty in the 39th minute put them into a five-point lead. The visitors controlled the game from there until the end. In a similar situation to the seniors our inability to win breaking ball on the half-forward line and at midfield was the major cause of our downfall. The tactic of bringing the ball into contact also proved to be counterproductive. Our final group game is away to Newport on this Saturday, 4th May at 7.00pm.

Team: Niall Shinners, David Mooney, Pat Williams, Kevin Oakley, Martin Grace, Caoilainn Conroy, Cormac Williams (0-1), Conor Lillis, Conor Austin, Paddy Ryan, Declan Barrett (1-0), Mark O’Neill (1-0), Conor Doheny, Kevin Shinners and Cormac Mannion. Subs: Sean McAdams (0-1), Kevin Ryan, Shane Williams, Luke Dervan and Louis Kennedy.



In the fourth round of the League MacDonaghs lost out to Toomevara in St. Michael’s Park. On this Wednesday, 1st May we have a home game against Kiladangan at 7.00pm.


Under 14

In the latest round of the football championship MacDonaghs had to give second best to a stronger Toomevara outfit in Ardcroney.   


Under 12

De Wets came out the wrong side of a 0-7 to 0-3 scoreline against Éire Óg in the semi-final of the football championship in Nenagh. Failure to translate possession into scores in the first half proved costly against an accomplished Nenagh side. We kicked nine first half wides.

Panel: Johnny Naughnane, Cathal McIntyre, Tommy Burriss, Cormac Gaynor, Cillian Healy, Ray Quinlivan, Shane Cleary, Paul Molloy, Thomas O’Brien, William Jones, Michael Cleary (0-3), Ferghal Doheny and Dara O’Looney. Frees For: 13. Frees Against: 18


Astro Turf

Despite the best efforts of storm Hannah to spoil the occasion the Official Opening of the Astro Turf went ahead on schedule on last Friday evening. Fr. Pat Greed and Rev. Shannon De Laureal performed the ecumenical blessing while John Devane, Chairman of the Tipperary County Board, was in attendance to cut the tape and declare that the facility was officially open. John also presented the medals to the minor hurlers who won the North championship last year. Tom Williams gave a rousing rendition of “Thomas MacDonagh” to bring the evening to a close. Thanks to all the parents who supplied the refreshments and to the ladies who looked after the catering with their customary efficiency. Thanks also to photographer Seamus Costello who was on hand to record the evening’s proceedings on camera.     


Munster Championship

Tickets for the Munster senior hurling championship will not be available from the club. Supporters can purchase tickets via or from Centra and Supervalu outlets.


Tipperary Draw

The new Tipperary Draw has a prize fund of €500,000 including twelve cars. Thanks to all who subscribed to the last the Draw and we look forward to your continued support. Our promoters are carrying out a forensic trawl of the parish at the moment in an attempt to increase our numbers in the Draw which commences on Friday, 10th May.