Our Email


MacDonaghs lost out by the minimum of margins to Toomevara on a 1-19 to 1-18 scoreline in the second round of the championship in Nenagh. Injury ruled out Conor Austin, Brian O’Meara, Matthew Moyles, Martin Grace and Pat Conway while Kevin Ryan had work commitments. The management had to be creative in selecting the team in order not to weaken the Junior ‘C’ side that will go into action later in the summer. Selector Gavin McAvinchey came out of retirement to wear the number fourteen jersey. The injured Pat Conway played for a minute before being replaced by David Mooney. Entering the fray as a substitute will not prevent David from lining out with the Junior ‘C’ team.

MacDonaghs played against the fresh breeze in the first half and got off to the perfect start inside the first minute when Gavin McAvinchey grabbed a long delivery and crashed the sliotar to the net. Gavin was very effective in the first half in particular, making a general nuisance of himself and breaking a lot of ball for his colleagues. With the breeze at their backs Toomevara settled and a Shane Nolan goal in the 25th minute helped them enjoy a 1-11 to 1-7 interval lead.

On the resumption, the Magpies were quickly out of the blocks and three pointed frees from Eoin Carroll and a Declan Barrett effort from play had the sides level on 1-11 each after 37 minutes. Toomevara knew they were in a battle and that there was going to be no repeat of the twenty-six point League victory. With 48 minutes gone MacDonaghs had edged into a three-point lead. With eight minutes left the sides were tied on 1-17 each. It  was anybody’s game at this stage. Kilruane were beginning to run out of steam in the forwards but the backs, anchored by Eanna Hogan at three and Tomás Hogan at six, continued to defend heroically. A 65 from Shane Nolan put Toomevara into the lead with two minutes of normal time left. MacDonaghs strove valiantly for the equaliser but Toomevara held out.

Team: Niall Shinners, Ross Austin, Eanna Hogan, Oisín O’Meara, Declan Barrett (0-1), Tomás Hogan, Caoilainn Conroy, Kevin Oakley (0-1), Rory Grace (0-2), David O’Sullivan (0-1), Cormac Mannion (0-1), Paddy Ryan (0-3), Pat Conway, Gavin McAvinchey (1-0), Eoin Carroll (0-9, 0-8 frees). Subs: David Mooney, Martin Grace.

Toomevara: Conor Grace, Darragh Spillane, Seamus O’Farrell, Colin Hall, Cathal Kennedy, Niall O’Farrell, Donal O’Farrell, Jack Ryan, Ciaran Grace, Adam Hall, Sean Flaherty, Conor O’Meara, James Meagher, Shane Nolan, Jim Shanahan.

Referee:  Christy McLoughlin.

The third round is against Roscrea on this Thursday, 16thJune in Toomevara at 7.45pm. Hopefully, most of the absentees will be available for this encounter.



Both our teams were in action against Ballina in MacDonagh Park last week. The ‘A’ team was very unlucky to lose out on a 4-3 to 1-8 scoreline. Both sides were sprinkled with some very skilful players  but the visitors had a very obvious physical superiority. Against the run of play Ballina led by 2-2 to 1-4 at the break. The second half followed a similar pattern to the first. Ballina were very economical with their scoring efforts whereas the Magpies spurned a number of opportunities. Despite the result, it was a very encouraging performance in their first competitive outing of the season and they will improve as the campaign goes on. 

Team: Dara Gaynor, Kalen Grace, James Gould, Lukah Williams, Tommy Gaynor, Mark Cleary, Karl Ryan (0-1), Tom Campbell, Senan O’Leary (0-1), Hugo Healy (1-1, 1-0 free), Emmet Dwyer (0-1), Gerard O’Looney (0-4, 0-2 frees), Tarla Doris.

The ‘D’ encounter was a nine-a-side competition but both teams agreed to play eleven-a-side to maximise participation. After a close enough first half MacDonaghs emerged victorious on a 6-10 to 1-3 scoreline. The Magpies had dominated possession in the first half but just led by 1-6 to 1-2 at the break. They were much more clinical in the second half and made their dominance count on the scoreboard.

Team: Colin Gaynor, Sean Whelan, Tadhg Teefey, Shane O’Meara, Conor McGrath, Jack O’Meara (2-2), Dylan Sheahan (0-1), Oisín Carroll (1-4, 0-1 65), Ronan Hayes, Ciaran Foote (2-1, 0-1 free), Daniel O’Brien (0-1), Shane Carroll, Arman Wahid, Odhran Goulding (1-1, 0-1 free), Liam Killackey, Cian O’Looney.

On Saturday morning MacDonaghs hosted Moycarkey. The ‘A’ team came out on top on a 2-9 to 0-6 scoreline while the ‘D’ match finished in a draw. On this Tuesday, 14th June  JK Brackens will be the visitors to MacDonagh Park. The first game is on at 6.40pm with the second game throwing in at 7.20pm.




On this Thursday, 16th June we host Ballina for two matches. The first game is at 6.30pm while the throw-in for the second game is scheduled for 7.15pm.


Cumann na mBunscol

Best of luck to our teams who play in the Cumann na mBunscol finals in Semple Stadium on Tuesday, 21st June. Cloughjordan NS are first in action at 10.00am in the U13 ‘D’ camogie final against Ballinahinch NS. Kilruane NS also face Ballinahinch in the U11 ’D’ hurling final at 11.40am. At 1.10pm it is the turn of the Kilruane girls who are up against Mullinahone NS in the U11 ’C’ final.  


Cúl Camp

The first Camp 4th – 8th July is fully booked out. There are still places available on the second camp 18th – 22nd July. Book on For further information contact Michael O’Meara 0872474768.



The Jackpot now stands at a very attractive €4,400. Tickets are available from the usual outlets or  you can join on Thanks for your continued support.


Limited Draw

Tickets  for the Limited Draw, costing €50, are now on sale from a vast network of sellers including committee members, players, selectors and parents. There is a Prize Fund of €17,000 with 17 prizes to be won. First prize is €10,000, 2nd €2,000, 3rd €1,000, 4x€500  prizes and 10x€200 prizes. The Draw takes place in the Clough Inn on Friday, 29th July. The money raised will be used to finance the development and maintenance of our facilities in MacDonagh Park to cater for all our hurling, camogie and football teams.