Our Email


We began the County championship with 3-16 to 0-15 loss to Toomevara in Nenagh. A sharper Toomevara team were on the front foot from the throw-in against the breeze and led by 1-5 to 0-3 at the end of the first quarter. MacDonaghs upped their game in the second quarter and drew level in the 30th minute. In added time, Toomevara hit a purple patch to lead 2-9 to 0-9 at the interval.

A shoulder injury forced the withdrawal of Niall O’Meara for the second half, and his absence stacked the odds in Toomevara’s favour. Craig Morgan was introduced at the break, but he was clearly far from fully fit. Toomevara scored their third goal in the thirty-ninth minute and looked likely winners from that point on.

Team: Conor Doheny, Cormac Doheny, Jack Peters, James Cleary, Eoin Hogan, Kieran Cahill (0-1), Mark O’Neill (0-1), Jerome Cahill, Aaron Morgan (0-1), Willie Cleary (0-8, 0-7 frees), Niall O’Meara, Seamus Hennessy, Devlin Courtney, Conor Cleary, Cian Darcy (0-2 frees). Subs: Conor Austin, Craig Morgan, Thomas Cleary (0-1), Páidí Williams.

In the next round, we will play Roscrea. We are asking all our supporters both young and old to get behind the team and management for this crucial fixture. Traditionally, our teams have been at their best when our backs are to the wall. This year, injuries and emigration have severely hampered the preparations, but the team is well capable of surmounting these obstacles. Let us all row in behind them.  



In the fourth round of the championship, we lost 2-26 to 1-18 against Toomevara in St. Michael’s Park. The home side built up a healthy interval lead, and although MacDonaghs shaded the second half 1-10 to 1-9, they never looked like bridging the gap.

Team: Kevin Naughnane, Sean Quinlan, Keith Broderick, Ciaran Coffey, Paddy Ryan, Tomás Hogan, Cormac Mannion (0-1), Robert Austin, Rory Grace, Kevin Shinners, Eanna Hogan, Matthew Moyles (0-2), Eoin Carroll (0-10, 0-7 frees), Oisín O’Meara (1-0), Eoin Williams (0-4, 0-1 free). Subs: Pat Conway (0-1), Declan Barrett, Martin Grace, Bob Dooley, James Williams.

In the final group game, we play Roscrea in Borrisoleigh this Friday, 4th August, at 7.30pm.



A late scoring burst helped secure a 4-12 to 2-16 victory over Newport in Lacken Park in a game that was played in miserable weather conditions. The home side led by a point at the interval and went five ahead in the second half. However, MacDonaghs kept plugging away and snatched victory in the closing minutes.

Team: Shane Cleary, Cathal England, Danny Cahalan, Simon Austin, Paul Molloy, Eamonn Coonan, Sean Hayes, Cian Moyles, Brian O’Meara, Tristan Madden, Andrew Hayes, Cian Hayes, Michael Hennelly (0-1), Eoin Carroll (4-9, 1-5 frees), Michael Cleary (0-2). Subs: Tommy Burriss, Johnny Naughnane.

The final group game is at home to Lorrha/Rovers on Wednesday, 2nd August, at 7.00pm.



In the third round of the ‘A’ championship, we recorded a 1-23 to 1-10 victory over Silvermines in Dolla. The groundwork for victory was laid in the first half.



Round 6 of the U15 Hurling Championship saw Kilruane travel to Dolla to face Silvermines. After an even first half, MacDonaghs led 3-10 to 2-11 with the goals coming from Tommy O'Meara, Andrew Austin and Paraic Nevin. Arman Khan Wahid also chipped in with two fine points in succession. A physically stronger Mines team got on top in the second half and ran out deserved winners by eight points.



Team: Dara Gaynor, Conor McGrath, James Gould, Callan Grace, Stasic Setikas, Cormac Kennedy (0-2 frees), Tommy Gaynor, Tommy O'Meara (2-2), Jack O'Meara, Charlie Kennedy (0-6, 0-4 frees), Paraic Nevin (1-0), Gerard O'Looney, Arman Khan Wahid (0-2), Andrew Austin (1-0), Shay Óg Kennedy. Subs: Oisin Carroll, Emmet Dwyer, Tom Campbell (0-1), Culann Haverty, Lukah Williams

The next round is at home to Ballina this Thursday, 3rd August, at 7.00pm.



MacDonaghs Dubh had an away victory over Kiladangan in Puckane.



Best wishes to Lisa Cahill and the Tipperary Premier Junior Camogie team in the All-Ireland final against Clare.


Tipperary Draw

There is a total prize fund of €600,000 with 10 car prizes, 20 Lotto jackpots plus 10 extra weekly draws. Promoters are presently canvassing the parish to recruit both new and existing members for the new Draw. Thanks to all who joined the last Draw, and we look forward to your continued support.



The weekly Bingo session continues on Saturday night in the Fr. O’Meara Centre, Kilruane at 8.00pm. The jackpot now stands at €1,450.



The jackpot next week will be €3,400. Tickets are available from the usual outlets, or you can play on Club Spot. Thanks for your continued support.



The club extends sympathy to the family of the late Jim Cahill, Toomevara, and formerly Kyle, Cloughjordan.