Our Email

Under 21

We lost out by the minimum of margins to Toomevara in the North semi-final on a 1-12 to 0-14 scoreline in Borrisoleigh.  The sides were level at the interval: MacDonaghs 0-10 Toomevara 1-7. The crucial score of the game came in the 19th minute when a shot for a point came back off the post and was finished to the net for a Toomevara goal. MacDonaghs were unfortunate not to raise a green flag just before the break.

Although the Magpies trailed by three points with ten minutes to go they fought it out to the bitter end and were unlucky not to take the game to extra time. Thanks to the players, management and backroom team for their effort during the year.

Team: Páidí Williams (0-1), Arran Conroy, Craig Morgan, Conor Lillis, Martin Grace, Mark O’Neill, Aaron Morgan, Matthew Spain, Kevin Oakley, Luke Dervan (0-1), Kevin Shinners, Kian O’Kelly, Cian Darcy (0-9, 0-6 frees, 0-2 65s), Jerome Cahill (0-3) and David O’Sullivan. Sub: Devlin Courtney.



A very successful and well-attended Annual General Meeting was held on last Friday night. Prior to the meeting Mass for deceased members was celebrated in Cloughjordan Church by Fr. Pat Greed. The following were elected:  Presidents Tom McLoughney, Len Gaynor, Fr. Pat Greed and Fr. Enda Burke; Vice-Presidents Martin O’Meara, Joe McCarthy, Carmel Daly and Des Gaynor; Chairman Joe Whelan; Secretary Martina Cleary; Assistant Secretary/PRO Gilbert Williams; Treasurer  John Mulcahy; Registrar Carmel Daly; Injury Claims Officer Kay Cahalan; Board Delegate Gilbert Williams; Child Welfare Officer Yvonne O’Looney; Health & Well Being Officer Roisín Costello; School Liaison Officers Brian England, Barney Naughnane, John O’Meara and Gilbert Williams.

Mary McLoughney stepped down after seven years as secretary. Chairman Joe Whelan paid tribute to Mary for her work during her term in office. Mary will remain on as a member of the club executive. We welcome the incoming secretary Martina Cleary and wish her well in her new role.

With the exception of the U21 grade, which wasn’t finished before the AGM, the club executive had already ratified all other management teams at the final committee meeting of the year. The U21 management for 2020 will be finalised at the Adjourned AGM which takes place on Thursday, 10th January.


Inter Divisional

Jack Mulcahy was a member of the North Tipperary U14 football team that won the Shield Final. Jack Gleeson and Eoin Carroll were on the U15 team that lost out in the Shield Final.


GAA Quiz

The Ardcroney N.S. team of Sarah Williams, Shane Cleary, Billy O’Brien and Shane O’Meara finished a very commendable sixth in the County Final of the Primary Schools GAA Quiz which was held in Thurles on last Sunday evening.



The Lotto Jackpot now stands at €8,700. Next week's special Christmas Draw will be held in the Corner House with an additional €1,000 in prizes. Thanks for your continued support.


Tipperary Hurling Club New York

Craig Morgan and Cian Darcy are travelling across the Atlantic this weekend for the Tipperary Hurling Club New York Dinner Dance which takes place on Saturday night.


Cloughjordan Christmas Festival

Cloughjordan Christmas Festival will take place on this Sunday, 8th December. At 5.00pm there will be a children’s parade on the street followed by the turning on of the Christmas lights at 5.30pm by Tipperary stars Seamie Callanan and Jake Morris. Santa Claus will also make an appearance and children can meet him in Santa’s Grotto. There will be a variety of Christmas Stalls on the Main Street. Entertainment will be provided by the ladies choir the Mellow Tones as well as other local singers and musicians.



The club extends sympathy to Geraldine Daly on the death of her brother Billy Collins, Nenagh Manor and late of Toomevara and Wilton, Ballymackey.