Our Email

All-Ireland Under 20

Congratulations to Craig Morgan, Jerome Cahill, Kian O’Kelly, the Tipperary U20 team and management on a fantastic victory over Cork. Craig became the first Kilruane MacDonaghs player to lead a Tipperary team to All-Ireland success.

Eight MacDonaghs players have now won U21/U20 All-Ireland medals: Len Gaynor 1964; Eamon O’Shea & Enda Hogan 1979; Seamus Hennessy & Brian O’Meara 2010: Cian Darcy 2018; Craig Morgan & Jerome Cahill 2018, 2019; and Kian O’Kelly 2019.

The U12, U13, and U14 panels travelled to Limerick for the final and were thrilled to see Craig Morgan lift the James Nowlan Cup. Thanks to Jimmy Cahill, John O’Meara and Peter Hennelly who accompanied the players.


The club was delighted to be asked by the County Board to host the homecoming for the Tipperary U20 team. It proved to be a resounding success and a memorable night in Cloughjordan village. Before their arrival at MacDonagh Park the team paid a visit to Kyle cross where Liam Haverty had a spectacular environmentally friendly bonfire blazing. The location of the bonfire was adjacent to captain Craig Morgan’s home.

The team, led by piper Ger Neville and flanked by twelve flag bearers from the U14 team, paraded up to the centre of the village. There they were greeted enthusiastically by a huge crowd. They made their way on to the lorry which was decked out in the Tipperary and MacDonaghs colours.

Gilbert Williams acted as MC. Kilruane MacDonaghs Chairman Joe Whelan, County Chairman John Devane, team manager Liam Cahill and team captain Craig Morgan addressed the crowd. County PRO Joe Bracken introduced the backroom and management team and all the players on the panel. Tom Williams brought proceedings to a close with a rendition of both “Thomas MacDonagh” and “Slievenamon”.

The club would like to take all who helped ensure that the homecoming was a fitting tribute to this wonderful group of players and management: the large crowd that assembled in the village; piper Ger Neville; DJ Michael McNamara; John Cahill who supplied the lorry; Liam Haverty who organised bonfire; Garda Brendan Healy and his colleagues who assisted with traffic management; and our club stewards who were in attendance from early in the night.   



In the second round of the County championship MacDonaghs play Thurles in Templetuohy on Sunday at 5.00pm.



In the third round of the championship MacDonagh play Moneygall/Clonakenny in MacDonagh Park on this Wednesday, 28th August at 7.00pm.


Under 16

MacDonaghs lost out to Lorrha Rovers Gaels in the semi-final on a 5-7 to 1-9 scoreline. There was very little between the two teams and the scoreline doesn’t reflect the close nature of the contest. The Gaels were more clinical in taking their chances and their keeper was also in inspired form. Thanks to the players and management for all their efforts during the year. Team:  Danny Cahalan, Sean Hayes, Ross Austin, Jack Ryan, Jack Gleeson, Niosa Minogue, Paul Dwyer, Eoin Carroll (0-4 incl 0-1 from free), Rory Grace, Billy Harty, Tadhg O’Brien, Kevin Naughnane (0-1 free), Oisín Williams (0-4, Jack Mulcahy (1-0) and Thomas Coonan. Sub: Tristan Madden.


Billy O’Meara Tournament

After three rounds Roscrea and Moneygall have qualified for the final of this U14 tournament. MacDonaghs and Templederry/Ballinahinch will contest the Plate final.


Under 13

The club is fielding two teams in this competition to maximise player participation. In the first round our ‘A’ team had a hard-earned 2-9 to 1-6 victory over Toomevara in St. Michael’s Park. Team: Tom Austin, Paul Molloy, Colm McAteer, Shane Cleary, Simon Austin, Cian Moyles, Cian Hayes, John Hannan, Cathal England (1-1), Cormac Gaynor, Brian O’Meara (0-6 frees), Cathal McIntyre, Cathan Gaffney, Ray Quinlivan and Michael Cleary (1-2). Sub: Eamonn Coonan.

Meanwhile our second team gave a very good account of themselves before losing out 5-7 to 5-2 away to Portroe.


Under 12

In the County ‘C’ final our second team lost out to South champions Clerihan in Holycross on a 1-10 to 0-4 scoreline. MacDonaghs dominated possession in the first half but a high tally of wides saw them trail 0-5 to 0-1 at the interval. MacDonaghs fought gallantly in the second half but a goal for Clerihan in the 34th minute put the result beyond doubt. It was a great achievement to field three U12 teams in 2019 and have our second team claim divisional honours. We are fortunate to have a very proactive group of mentors who have done Trojan work with these young players. Team:  Andrew Austin, Darragh White, Shay Óg Kennedy, Cormac Kennedy (0-3 incl 0-1 free), Stasik Setikas, Tommy O’Meara, Fiachra Ahearne (0-1), Ferghal Doheny, Jack Kenneally, Donnacha O’Meara and Charlie Kennedy. Subs: Gerard O’Looney and Michael Hennelly.



Well done to the two successful Lahorna girl’s teams who took part in Féile 60x30 in Wexford on Sunday. The second team of Ali O'Kelly, Lucy Gould, Aoife Williams, Katie Mulcahy and Clodagh Shinners were runners up in the Plate final while the first team of Emma Williams, Hannah Grace, Leanne Gould, Christine Percy and Sarah Williams won all their games and the main final with Hannah winning gold in the skills competition.



The club extends sympathy to the family of the late Josie Ryan, Ormond Street and formerly, Ballymacue, Kilruane.