Our Email

Minor Football

MacDonaghs qualified for the county minor ‘B’ football final with a 6-9 to 0-9 victory over Cappawhite Gaels under lights in Dr. Morris Park. The final scoreline does not reflect the closeness of the contest. At the interval MacDonaghs only led by a point on a 1-5 to 0-7 scoreline. Very little divided the teams in the opening period and it was a goal in the first minute by Luke Morkan that helped the boys in their alternative strip of green and gold shade the first half.  However, three goals inside the first four minutes from Devlin Courtney (2 minute), Páidí Williams (3rd minute) and Kian O’Kelly (4th minute) of the second half turned the game on its head and there was no way back for Cappawhite after that.  A missed penalty by the West champions didn’t help their cause. Páidí Williams put the icing on the cake with the final goal of the game deep into injury time. In the final Moyne Templetuohy/ Thurles Gaels will provide the opposition. Best wishes to Nathan Lynch who suffered a serious knee injury in the closing stages of the game and will be unavailable for the final. Team: Karl Williams (0-4), Kevin Oakley, Ben Chadwicke, Nathan Ryan, Mark O’Neill, Jerome Cahill (0-1), Sean McAdams, Craig Morgan, Devlin Courtney (1-0), Luke Morkan (1-1), Luke Dervan, Nathan Lynch (1-1), Alan Spain, Kian O’Kelly (1-0) and Matthew Spain (0-1). Subs: Páidí Williams (2-1), Oisín O’Meara, Aaron Morgan, Patrick Hayes and Eoin England.



The following players were involved with North Tipperary hurling teams at the weekend: U13 Oisín Williams and Eoin Carroll; U14 Rory Grace and Neasa Minogue: and U15 David O’Sullivan, Kevin McDonald and Aaron Morgan.


Laochra Gael

Congratulations to Len Gaynor who was presented with his Laochra Gael Award by GAA President  Aogán Ó Fearghail at a function in the Dome on last Sunday evening.


GAA Quiz

The Ardcroney N.S. team of Daniel Cahalan, Jack Mulcahy, Brian O’Meara and Shane Cleary contested the County Final of the GAA Primary schools’ Quiz in Thurles on Sunday evening. Although the acquitted themselves well they didn’t get among the honours.



The Annual General Meeting will be held on Friday, 15th December at 8.00pm. It will be preceded by Mass for deceased members in Cloughjordan Church at 7.30pm.


Premier Legends

On next Saturday, 2nd December “Premier Legends”, written by Noel Dundon, will be launched in St. Patrick’s College Thurles at 8.00pm. It features seventeen chapters on Tipperary hurling greats including Len Gaynor. Everybody is invited to attend.