Our Email


A 2-11 to 0-12 loss against Burgess in Kilcolman ended our aspirations in this championship. The game was in the balance until a late goal for the home side sealed the issue. It was a day in which defences were on top  and scores from play were at a premium.  It was always going to be an uphill battle for MacDonaghs  who had to line out without the services of Kian O’Kelly and his presence was sorely missed up front. Burgess scored their first goal in the ninth minute and this helped them lead by 1-6 to 0-7 at the interval. As the game headed into injury MacDonaghs trailed by a point but Burgess struck for their second goal in the 61st minute and tacked on a point from a free to book their place in the final. Thanks to the players and management for their efforts.

Team: Kevin Naughnane, Danny Cahalan, Cormac Doheny, Ross Austin, Ciaran Coffey, Aaron Morgan, David O’Sullivan, Mathew Moyles (0-1), Rory Grace (0-1), Eoin Carroll (0-7 frees), Nathan Lynch (0-3), Jack Mulcahy, Matthew Spain, Louis Kennedy, Paul Dwyer. Subs: Tristan Madden, Shane McAteer.


Juvenile AGM

One of the biggest crowds in recent years attended the Annual General Meeting of the Juvenile Club. The following were elected: Chairman Lenny Gaynor; Vice-Chairman Niall O’Meara; Secretary Yvonne Kennedy; PRO Gilbert Williams; Child Welfare Officer Jenny Whelan; and Board Delegate John O’Meara. The following managers were appointed: U7 Brian Gaynor; U9 Stephen Kennedy; U11 Ian Foley; U13 Martin O’Looney; U15 Kieran Nevin; and U17 Cathal McIntyre & Mick Cleary. Tributes were paid to outgoing Chairman John Jones who stepped down after four years in the chair. Best wishes to our new Chairman Lenny Gaynor who has hit the ground running with much work already done in preparation for 2023. We also welcome Niall O’Meara on board as Vice-Chairman.




Munster Awards

Congratulations to Martin Spain, Lahorna Handball Club who has been named Munster Handball Person of the Year. Martin is secretary of  the Lahorna Club. He is also chairman

 of the North Tipperary Handball Board, a member of the Tipperary Juvenile Committee and Tipperary delegate to the Munster Handball Council. Martin coaches players in Lahorna and Nenagh and is currently involved with the Lahorna Club’s development of a new 40x20 court. Martin received his award at a function in Hotel Minella, Clonmel last Saturday night.



The Jackpot now stands at a very attractive €3,500. The next draw will be on Monday, 2nd January. Tickets are available from the usual outlets or you can join on Thanks for your continued support.


Dillon Quirke Foundation

This foundation was set up in honour of the late Dillon Quirke who collapsed and died of SADS (Sudden Adult Death Syndrome) on 5th August 2022 in Semple Stadium. He was playing for Clonoulty Rossmore against Kilruane MacDonaghs. SADS takes 100 young lives in Ireland every year. The aim of the Dillon Quirke Foundation is to raise awareness and save lives by screening every GAA player both male and female from the age of 12 upwards. The Kilruane MacDonaghs Club will be making a donation to this fundraiser. If you would like to make a contribution you can contact any club official or you can follow the link on our social media pages.



The club extends sympathy to the following: the family of the late Pat Crowe, Kilruane House, Ballymacue; the family of the late Patricia Ryan (née Coen), Dernasling, Ardcroney; and the Ryan family, Cloughkeating on the death of Colette Lalor (née Ryan), Fairview, Birr.


Season’s Greetings

The Kilruane MacDonaghs club would like to wish its supporters, players, committee and officials a peaceful and safe Christmas & a healthy New Year. We remember those who were bereaved during the year and all our parishioners, who are in exile, are also very much in our thoughts.