Our Email

12 Jan 2009 by Philip Heenan

Annual Presentation Night – Friday 9th January 2009

Photo of U12 County League Winners:-

Back row: P. Heenan (selector), D. Darcy (selector), C. Morkan, C. Hodgins, Joe Cahill (chairman), E. Cleary, H. Hogan, M. Hogan, K. Quinlisk, L. Darcy, N. Costello, John Cahill (selector).

Middle row: M. Maher, S. Maher, R. Morkan, L. Brereton, C. England, G. Finn, S. Heenan, C. Grace, R. Cahill.

Front row: M. Grace, F. Ryan (selector), E. Enright (young player of the year), Seamus Hennessy U21 Tipperary Captain, E. Austin (captain), S.Heffernan.

The club’s Annual Presentation Night took place in the GAA Complex in Cloughjordan on Friday night 9th January 2009. Club chairman, Joe Cahill opened the proceedings by welcoming the good attendance of parents and players to the function. He congratulated each and every player for their tremendous effort throughout the year and complimented all the trainers and selectors.

The club had the honour of having the Captain of the U21 Tipperary Hurling team, Seamus Hennessy, to present the county league medals to the U12 panel. Seamus gave some valuable words of advice to the young players – he advised them to listen to their selectors but most of all to enjoy the training and matches and have good memories of those years as juveniles.

The following girls received their U12 County league medals:- Niamh Costello, Mary Grace, Clodagh Hodgins, Leah Brereton, Emma Cleary, Eibhlin Enright, Georgianna Finn, Emilee Austin (captain), Shauna Heffernan, Katie Quinlisk, Roisin Cahill, Sorcha Heenan, Helen Hogan, Maria Hogan, Chloe Morkan, Grainne Gibson, Robyn Morkan, Cliona England, Elly Callan, Ciara Williams, Ciara Grace, Leanne Tooher, Shauna Maher, Maura Maher, Laura Darcy, Roisin Dillon, Niamh Dillon, Aoife Tierney.

The club also made a presentation to the U12 management team of John Cahill, Fiona Ryan, Denis Darcy and Philip Heenan for their hard work and dedication with this young panel. The young player of the year award was won by Eibhlin Enright. Eibhlin played a pivotal role on the U12 team in 2008, rarely missed a training session and was instrumental in achieving success for her club in the U12 league.

Joe extended thanks to Kilruane Hurling Club for the use of the Complex and a special word of thanks to all the ladies who put on a tremendous selection of gourmet delights for all present.

The highlight of the night was yet to come – DJ Diarmuid Cahill put on a disco for all the kids and what an enjoyable night it was, with many of adults also taking to the floor.

Annual General Meeting – Saturday 17th January 2009

The Annual General Meeting of the club took place on Saturday last in the GAA Complex in Cloughjordan. It was well attended by parents and players.

The officers presented their reports on the night. Noel Coonan, chairman of the Child Welfare Committee gave a detailed talk on the new Code of Ethics and Best Practice Document, which was duly adopted by the delegates. Copies of the Code will be distributed to selectors and parents over the coming weeks.

The following officers were elected for 2009:

Chairman – Philip Heenan,

Secretary – Josephine Tierney,

Treasurer – Patricia Costello, Assistant-Treasurer – Sinead Williams.

PRO – Helen Heenan.

The incoming Chairman, Philip Heenan, extended thanks to the outgoing Chairman Joe Cahill for his tremendous hard work and dedication to the club. He spoke of his courageous vision and his professionalism within this role. Philip also praised the outgoing Secretary Niamh Morkan for her commitment to the job. He wished all the selectors of the various teams well for the coming year. He reminded delegates that the club is celebrating its 40th Anniversary this year and we would be commemorating this event during the year.

Trainers and selectors for the year are as follows:-

U10 – Willie Percy, Anne O’Meara, Billy Hill, Eithne Spain.

U12 – Lisa Shoer, Joe Cahill, Patricia Costello, John Cahill.

U14 – Katie Starr, Freddie Williams

U16 – Philip Heenan, Sinead Williams

U18 & Junior – Jimmy Cahill, Stephen Murphy, Catherine Enright, Dave Enright.

The full selection team for the panels will be completed shortly and a Selectors Meeting will follow.

The senior player of the year award was presented to joint recipients – Noreen Maher and Lisa Cahill. Both girls excelled for their teams during the year, Noreen as goal-keeper and Lisa in the inside back line for both U16 and Junior.

Many thanks to Mary Maher for looking after the catering on the night

The club will be doing a bag-pack in Dunnes Stores in Roscrea on Friday 30th and Saturday 31st January to raise funds for the club. All club members will be contacted shortly to finalise a rota for this very important fundraiser.