Our Email

20 Dec 2007 by Sinead Prout

In 1994, under the guidance of new trainers Declan O’Meara, David Quinlan, Brian Gaynor and John Cahill, the Junior team won both the County League and Championship finals, beating Thurles in the League and Templemore in the Championship after extra time in the replay.

In 1995 we contested the Intermediate League and Championship finals beating Templemore in the League and losing to Burgess in the Championship.

1996 was a disappointing year for us losing to Shannon Rovers in the Intermediate County semi-final.

In 1997, under the guidance of Brian England and Joe Cahill, we won the Intermediate County final, beating Holycross/Ballycahill.  Team: Bernie Meagher, Marcella Keogh, Aoife Heffernan, Una O’Rourke, Bridget Cleary, Debbie Carroll, Ciara Gaynor, Susan Williams, Yvonne Williams, Alice Deane, Michelle Larkin and Sinead Prout.  Subs: Sinead Gaynor, Aoife O’Brien, Marie White, Collette Cleary, Maureen Dooley, Breda Blessing, Mary O’Meara, Susan Kelly, Nicola Mulcahy, Eileen Brennan and Ciara O’Brien.

That was the last silverware won by our adult team.  They now contest the Junior B championship.

In 1993 the under 14’s beat Bansha in the B Championship County Final.  Four of that team, including captain Debbie Carroll, went on to play on the intermediate team that won the 1997 county final.