Our Email

U-21 Hurling
Making an eleventh final appearance, the u-21 hurlers won the North championship for the eighth time by overcoming Shannon Rovers Gaels. The team began the campaign slowly, but gradually improved and reserved their best performance for the final. After the game North Board chairman, John Sherlock presented the Michael Delaney Cup to captain Stephen Murphy. Well done to the panel, manager Mark O Leary and selectors Barney Naughnane, Joe Burns and Jim O Meara.

In the county semi-final they will renew rivalry with South champions Carrick Swan. DVDs of the match are available from Declan Barrett 086-2516150 ( See match report ).

Junior Hurling
Kilruane MacDonaghs will play South champions Moyle Rovers in the quarter-final of the county junior hurling championship in Drombane on this Saturday at 3.30p.m.. These sides last met in the 1998 county semi-final in Littleton, with the South side coming out on top.

U-8 Hurling
The u-8 hurlers, captained by Jerome Cahill, won the Nenagh Eire Og tournament last Saturday. In the first round they had six points to spare against Toomevara. In the second round they proved too strong for Ballina. After an exciting final MacDonaghs got the better of Nenagh on a 1-2 scoreline. Sean McAdams notched the goal and Craig Morgan slotted over two points. Panel: Jerome Cahill, Seamus O Meara, Sean Quinlan, Kian O Kelly, Tommy Dooley, Luke Dervan, Matthew Moyles, Mark O Neill, Jack Dunne, Oisin O Meara, Eoin Mulcahy, Luke Carroll, Craig Morgan, Alan Spain , Kevin Oakley, Sean McAdams , Karl Williams, Jake O Kelly, Kieran Spain, Barry Shanahan and Aaron Morgan. Thanks to Nenagh Eire Og for the invitation. Outdoor activities for the u-8’s have concluded. Indoor hurling will commence in the Complex after the mid-term break.

U-10 Hurling
The finals of the Kilruane MacDonaghs u-10 hurling tournament take place this Saturday in Thomas MacDonagh Park. In the C final at 10.30 Nenagh Eire Og take on Burgess. Toomevara face Ahane in the B final at 11.30 and Kilruane MacDonaghs play Murroe-Boher in the A final at 12.30. MacDonaghs qualified for the A final with a win against Burgess in Kilcolman. Panel: Cormac Mannion, Karl Williams, James Cleary, Brendan McAdams, Jerome Cahill, Darragh Peters, Cian Darcy, Kieran Brereton, Tom Dooley, William Ryan, Niall Shinners, Craig Morgan, Rory Mccarthy, Kevin Shinners, Paul Guidera, Arran Conroy, Ethan Hayes, Martin Grace, Sean Quinlan, Darragh Fogarty and Christopher Moyles.

Billy O Meara Tournament
The finals of the Billy O Meara tournament were held in Thomas MacDonagh Park last Sunday. In the B final Burgess defeated Moneygall on a 4-12 to 6-2 scoreline. In the A final Kilruane MacDonaghs overcame Moyne-Templetuohy on 5-6 to 2-3 scoreline. After the match Phyliss O Meara had the pleasant task of presenting the Billy O Meara Cup to her grandson Dean O Meara. Thanks to Joe and Michael Cahill who refereed the finals. Team: Robert Ward, Ian Mcsherry, Patrick Ryan, Sean Cleary, Tomás Hogan, Jack Peters, Raymond Kelly. David Williams (0-1), Jack Banaghan, Kieran Cahill (0-2), Alan Darcy, Sean Cleary, Jamie Heffernan (1-2), P.J. Cleary ands Andrew Brennan (2-1). Subs; Dean O Meara, Simon Delahunty (1-0) and Aidan Boyle. That brings the curtain down on a very busy season for the u-14 panel. Thanks to Jimmy Cahill, Len Gaynor, Fr. Tom Hannon, Pat Shanahan and Christy Morgan for all their hard work.

Schools Football

Cloughjordan N.S. qualified for the final of the with wins against Ardcroney N.S. and Burgess N.S. The following team lined out against Burgess: Keelan Troy, Conor Austin, Thomas Hague, Andrew Hodgins, Mark Tierney, Jack Farrell, Jonathan Powell, Kieran Brereton, Brian Dooley, Cian Darcy and Paul Guidera. Sub: Rory McCarthy
Kilruane N.S. were beaten by Puckane N.S. in the quarter-final of their championship on a 3-8 to 2-5 scoreline. Kilruane led by three points at the break but Puckane finished strongly to advance to the semi-. Final. Team: Cormac Mannion, Tomás Hogan, Caoilainn Conroy, Cillian Finn, Darragh Peters, Conor Nevin, Stephen Cleary (0-1), Finnian Mannion (1-1), Craig Morgan, Kieran Lillis, Craig Hilmi, John Healy (1-3) and James Cleary. Sub: Alex Jones.