Our Email

All-Ireland Final
Best of luck to Darragh Peters, Cian Darcy and the Tipperary minor team in their quest for All-Ireland glory.

Inter County
Jerome Cahill and Craig Morgan were on the U16 team that was beaten by Cork in the semi-final of the Tipperary Supporters Club tournament. Mark O’Neill was part of the U15 panel that lost to Cork in the final of the Carrigdhoun tournament while Sean McAdams was on the ‘B’ team that won the Plate final. Kian O’Kelly was on the U14 team that played in the Tony Forristal tournament in Waterford.

MacDonaghs take on JK Brackens in the county championship in Toomevara on Sunday, 13th September at 2.00pm.

MacDonaghs lost out by the minimum of margins to Roscrea in the quarter-final in Toomevara. Final score: 2-14 to 1-16. David Williams opened the scoring with a point and inside the first quarter the sides were level on 0-3 each. Midway through the half Roscrea got a grip of the game and opened a four-point gap. As the half came to a close MacDonaghs hit three points without reply to leave the interval score 0-8 to 0-7 in favour of Roscrea.
On the resumption, a point from Eoin Hogan brought the sides level. The teams traded points and were deadlocked on 0-10 each. Roscrea struck for two goals and seemed to be in control. MacDonaghs responded and helped by a goal from Eoin Hogan they edged their way back into the game. As the clocked ticked down a point from Eoin Hogan brought the sides level. Excitement grew and the momentum seemed to be with MacDonaghs. However, Roscrea forced a 65 and Mark Ryan slotted over the winning point.
It had been a noble effort by MacDonaghs. They were unfortunate not to raise four more green flags. For the third year in a row they lost out by a point. The wheel will surely turn soon. Thanks to the players and the management team of John Quinlan, Paddy Williams and John Hyland for their efforts during the year. Earlier in the season they captured the league title.

Team: Conor Doheny, Páidí Kelly, Brendan McAdams, Conor Austin, Caoilainn Conroy, Colm Williams, Martin Grace, Alan Darcy, Pat Conway, Eoin Hogan (1-8), Robert Austin, James Cleary (0-3), David Williams (0-1), Mark O’Meara (0-2) and Jonathan Cahill. Subs: Aidan Boyle (0-2), Tom Dooley and Mark O’Leary.

MacDonaghs just edged out a very good Nenagh team in the quarter-final in Puckane on a 3-9 to 1-13 scoreline. Nenagh opened the scoring with a brace of pointed frees. White flags from James Cleary and Cian Darcy had the sides level. The tackling was ferocious and frees were hard earned. Defences were on top. Nenagh edged two points ahead but Craig Morgan reduced the gap with a point. In the 27th minute Cormac Mannion poached a goal to leave MacDonaghs ahead by 1-3 to 0-4 at the interval.
James Cleary opened the second half scoring with a point. Both teams were going at it hammer and thongs. In the 37th minute a goal from Jake Morris had the sides level. Adam Healy and Cian Darcy swopped points. Shane Hennessy put Nenagh in front. In the 41st minute Cian Darcy took a pass from Sean McAdams and whipped a ground ball to the net. Sean tacked on a point and the Magpies had a three-point advantage. Nenagh hit a purple patch and fired over five points on the trot. With nine minutes to go, MacDonaghs were two points adrift. Points from Cian Darcy and James Cleary (free) had the sides all square again. Shane Hennessy put Nenagh back in the driving seat with a white flag. With two minutes to go, Cian Darcy took a pass from the outstanding Jerome Cahill, knifed through the Nenagh defence and rifled a rasper to the roof of the net. Jake Morris was on target from a 65 but Kevin Shinners replied with a point. In injury time MacDonaghs held firm as a valiant Nenagh team sought the winning goal.
It had been a terrific contest between two very committed teams. Neither side was willing to yield an in inch. In truth, the result could have gone either way.

Team: Niall Shinners, Arran Conroy, Brendan McAdams, Conor Lillis, Jerome Cahill, Darragh Peters, Martin Grace, Oisín O’Meara, Cian Darcy (2-3), Kevin Shinners (0-1), Tom Dooley, Sean McAdams (0-1), Craig Morgan (0-1), James Cleary (0-3) and Cormac Mannion (1-0). Subs: Devlin Courtney and Mark O’Neill.

MacDonaghs now face championship favourites Kildangan in the semi-final on Wednesday, 9th September in Nenagh at 6.00pm. The players performed well against Nenagh but will have to raise their game to new heights against a team who have been touted as likely champions before a ball was pucked in the competition.

Under 16
MacDonaghs are away to Roscrea in the semi-final to be played in Roscrea at 4pm on Saturday 5th September.

Under 13
MacDonaghs take on Toomevara in the first round of the U13 Plate in MacDonagh Park on this Saturday, 5th September at 5.00pm.

Under 10
On last Monday the U10s travelled to Carrig, Birr to play CRC Gaels in a very entertaining match. Thanks to CRC Gaels for the invitation.

  • Saturday 5th September: U10 vs Scariff in Cloughjorday at 10:15am
  • Monday 7th September: U10 Vs Birr in Cloughjordan at 6:45pm
  • Saturday 12th September: U10 Paddy Quinlan Tournament starts at 10:30am in Cloughjordan and continues until 1pm.

Under 6 & Under 8
The club hosted the Silvermines U6 and U8 teams last Saturday. Four very enjoyable games were played. Thanks to Silvermines for travelling
U8 Panel: Andrew Austin, Mikey Byrne Ryan, Adam Carroll, Michael Cleary, Shane Cleary, Daniel Connolly, Cillian Franks, Cormac Gaynor, Cillian Healy, Hugo Healy, Michael Hennelly, Billy Hodgins, William Jones, Lucas Jones, Charlie Kennedy, Cormac Kennedy, Cathal McIntyre, Paul Molloy, Johnny Naughnane, Pádraic Nevin, Dara O’Looney, Donnacha O’Meara, Tommy O’Meara, Dave Quinlisk, Bill Quinlisk, Jack Quinlisk, Ray Quinlivan, Tom Smyth, Darragh White and Cathal Williams.
Under 6 Panel : Mark Cleary, Emmet Dwyer, Ciaran Foote,Colin Gaynor, Dara Gaynor, Thomas Gaynor,Odhran Goulding, Calum Grace, Dylan Hussey Sheahan, Liam Killackey, James Last, Philip Lemanzyk, James McCarthy, Conor McGrath, Daniel O'Brien, Gerard O'Looney, Jack O'Meara, Shane O'Meara, Karl Ryan, Alex Smyth, Tadhg Teefey, Senan O'Leary.

A meeting of the juvenile committee will be held on this Thursday, 4th September at 8.30pm. All juvenile selectors are asked to attend.

The club extends sympathy to the Coleman and Coughlan families on the death of Iris Coleman, Behamore, Cloughjordan.