Our Email

Munster Finals
Congratulations to Niall O’Meara, Eamon O’Shea, Darragh Peters, Cian Darcy and both Tipperary teams on their tremendous victories in Semple Stadium. Darragh had the honour of captaining the minor team in the absence of Stephen Quirke. He is the fourth MacDonaghs player to captain Tipperary to victory. Liam Tierney led intermediate team to Munster success 1961. Paddy Williams skippered the 1979 senior team to win the National league and Seamus Hennessy lifted the Munster U21 cup in 2008.

Munster Senior Hurling Winners (9)
The following nine players have won Munster senior hurling medals: Tom McLoughney (1960, 1961 & 1962), Len Gaynor (1964, 1965, 1967, 1968 & 1971), Seamus Gibson (1987 & 1988), Ger Williams 1987, Tony Sheppard 1987, Mark O'Leary 2001, Seamus Hennessy 2009, Brian O'Meara 2012 and Niall O’Meara 2015.

Munster Minor Winners (19)
The following nineteen players have won Munster minor hurling medals: Liam White 1961, Paddy O’ Dwyer 1961, Len Gaynor 1962, Jim O’Meara 1973, Mackey Waters 1973, Joe Hutchinson 1973, Seamus Hennessy 1973, Eamon O’Shea 1976, Enda Hogan 1976, Michael Conway 1980, Liam Gleeson 1987, George O'Leary 1987, Brian Gaynor 1991, Martin Haverty 1993, Ray McLoughney 2003, Seamus Hennessy 2007, Jack Peters 2012, Darragh Peters 2015 and Cian Darcy 2015.

Primary Game
Aaron Morgan lined out with the Tipperary Primary game team in Thurles last Sunday. Aaron is a first cousin of Niall O’Meara who played a prominent role in the senior victory.

Jim Devitt Cup Final
Upperchurch-Drombane were deserving winners of the Jim Devitt Cup final in Dolla on a 0-19 to 1-13 scoreline. MacDonaghs played with a slight breeze in the first half but it was Upperchurch that dominated the opening quarter and raced into a 0-7 to 0-1 lead. They were the hungrier team, first to the ball and first to the breaks all over the field. MacDonaghs made a burst before half-time and went into the dressing room 0-9 to 0-5 behind. The scoreline flattered Kilruane and they were fortunate to be only four points adrift.

MacDonaghs upped their game in the second half and by the thirty sixth minute were only one point in arrears. A goal from Thomas Cleary had helped galvanise the team. With forty three minutes gone they had edged a point ahead. However, it was the Mid team that finished the stronger to take the spoils. MacDonaghs made a fight of it in the second half but overall it was a disappointing performance.

The management team have put in a huge effort in preparing the team. There was a great start to the season. Injuries to key players have had a negative impact on performances and the team has now hit a rocky patch. MacDonaghs can still have a big say in the county championship which won’t take place until the divisional competitions are finished. The return of the absent players will bolster the team. However, some players will have to face some very uncomfortable truths. Hopefully, we will see full attendances at training from now until the county championship resumes. The next training session will be very revealing.

Team: Thomas Williams, Páidí Kelly, Seamus Hennessy, Stephen Cleary, Éanna Hogan, Willie Cleary, Conor Austin, Justin Cahill (0-4), Declan Barrett, James Williams (0-4), Kevin Quinlan, Tomás Hogan (0-1), Conor Cleary, Thomas Cleary (1-1) and James Cleary (0-1). Subs: Kevin Ryan, Ray McLoughney and Eoin Hogan (0-2).

MacDonaghs play Kildangan in the first round of the championship on this Saturday, 18th July. Check fixtures for confirmation of time and venue.

In the second round of the championship MacDonaghs take on Toomevara in Moneygall on this Wednesday, 15th July at 7.30pm.

Under 16
MacDonaghs made the short journey to Puckane for the second round of the championship and came away with the points on offer after a 2-16 to 1-13 victory. Unfortunately, Mark O’Neill sustained a broken collarbone early in the game. We wish Mark a speedy recovery and hope to see him back in action as soon as possible. Despite the loss of Mark, the team chiselled out a good win. Captain, Oisín O’Meara was outstanding at full-back and the switch of Craig Morgan to full forward titled the balance in favour of MacDonaghs. Team: Jack Dunne, Eoghan Mulcahy, Oisín O’Meara, Dylan Moran, Mark O’Neill, Craig Morgan (2-6), Sean McAdams, Nathan Ryan, Kian O’Kelly, Kevin Oakley, Jerome Cahill (0-6), Jake O’Kelly (0-1), Devlin Courtney, Luke Dervan and Tommy Dooley (0-3). Subs: Cian Spillane, Alan Spain and Seamus O’Meara.

Under 14
In the third round of the championship MacDonaghs took full use of home advantage to register a 2-9 to 1-6 victory against Borrisokane. Second half goals from James Loughnane and Kian O’Kelly helped to separate two very even teams. Team: Páidí Williams, Paul O’Neill, Louis Kennedy, Conor Quinlan, Aaron Morgan (0-1), Dylan Moran, Shane McAteer, James Loughnane (1-2), Colm Cleary, Rory Grace, David O’Sullivan (0-1), Matthew Moyles (0-1), Cormac Doheny, Kian O’Kelly (1-4) and Kieran Spain. Subs: Owen Farrell, Kevin McDonald.

Under 12
In the sixth round of the championship MacDonaghs travelled to Portroe and came home with a share of the spoils. The home team scored 3-4 while the visitors responded with 1-10. The next game is at home to Templederry on this Friday, 17th July at 7.00pm. Team: Oisín Williams, Cian White, Tom Larke, Adam Cleere, Kevin Naughnane (0-1), Rory Grace (0-4), Ciarán Coffey, Georgie O’Leary, Eoin Carroll (0-4), Zack Dervan and Paul Dwyer (1-1). Sub: Thomas Coonan.

Under 10
The Borrisokane U10 team came to MacDonagh Park on last Tuesday and despite the inclement weather it proved to be a very worthwhile game for both sides. Team: Tom Austin, Danny Cahalan,
Eamon Coonan, Conal Daly, Cathal England, Alfonso Galero Kleboe, Diego Galero Kleboe, Jack Gleeson, John Hannan, Andrew Hayes, Tristan Madden, Colm McAteer, Cian Moyles, Jack Mulcahy
Brian O'Meara, Eoin O'Neill, Darragh Spillane, and John Quinlisk.

The club extends sympathy to the McCormack, Brennan and Cavanagh families on the death of Kathleen Feehan, Shinrone, to the relatives of the late Mick Grace, Ballyibbon and to Joanne Lahert, Beechwood on the death of her father.