Our Email

Under 21
Kilruane MacDonaghs qualified for the North semi-final for the ninth time in ten years with a 0-18 to 1-13 victory against Burgess in Puckane. The game was played on a heavy sod which sapped the energy of the players. With David Williams and Conor Austin on the injured list, MacDonaghs had only seventeen players togged out. Kilruane had the assistance of a light breeze in the opening half. Kieran Cahill opened the scoring with a point and added another from a free. Burgess got on the scoreboard when Keith Nealon slotted over a free. A pair of points from Aidan Boyle and Kieran Cahill gave MacDonaghs a two point lead. Keith Nealon replied with another pointed free. Kieran Cahill cancelled this out when he was on target from a placed ball. In the twentieth minute Tom Dooley, who had replaced the injured Paddy Ryan, fired over a point to leave the score 0-6 to 0-3. Burgess struck back with a point from play and another from a 65. Kieran Cahill was fouled and he punished the indiscretion with a white flag. He was on target again after a foul on Tomás Hogan and MacDonaghs were three ahead. Burgess rallied before the break, scoring three points, punctuated by a brilliant score from Jack Peters who stormed up field to put the sliotar over the bar. At the interval MacDonaghs led by 0-9 to 0-8.
On the restart, Burgess levelled but Conor Cleary hit a sweet point after collecting an angled cross. A Keith Nealon free had the sides all square again. MacDonaghs upped the tempo and scored four points on the trot from James Cleary, Kieran Cahill (2 frees) and an effort from Bob Dooley. Burgess kept in touch with a point but a free from Kieran Cahill cancelled this out. Burgess scored their fourth point of the half to leave three points between the sides. Points from James Cleary and Kieran Cahill (free) gave MacDonaghs a five point cushion. Burgess reduced the deficit to four before Kieran Cahill scored his eleventh point of the game to restore the five point advantage. Burgess desperately needed a goal. In added time, Keith Nealon found the net from a free. MacDonaghs dug deep in the closing minutes to hold on for a two point victory.
There was plenty to admire in this performance. The team fought with great heart and determination against a physically imposing Burgess side. MacDonaghs now face a formidable obstacle in the shape of Nenagh. It will take a monumental effort to reach the eighth final in nine years in this grade. The game is fixed for Sunday 23rd November in Dolla at 2pm.
Team: Conor Doheny, Stephen Cleary, Brendan McAdams, Jack Peters (0-1), Caoilainn Conroy, Tomás Hogan, Finnian Mannion, Darragh Peters, Alan Darcy, Aidan Boyle (0-1), Kieran Cahill (0-11), Conor Cleary (0-1), Paddy Ryan, James Cleary (0-2) and Bob Dooley (0-1). Sub: Tom Dooley (0-1).

Sean Ghael Awards
Congratulations to Carmel Daly and John Lawlor who have been selected as Sean Ghael Award recipients for 2014. Carmel made club history in 1993, becoming the first woman to be elected to office, when she was appointed treasurer of Kilruane MacDonaghs. Before her election, she had been an influential member of the Finance Committee. Carmel continues to be to be a central figure in club activities. She is one of the driving forces behind the Club Lotto since its inception in 1996 and co-ordinates the County Draw with her customary efficiency. Carmel is also a tremendous supporter of both club and county teams. Last Sunday she was in Puckane to see the U21 hurlers in action.
John Lawlor is being honoured for both his service to his native Nenagh Éire Óg and Kilruane MacDonaghs. John was secretary of the MacDonaghs club between 1993 and 2000. The affable John was universally popular as he carried out his duties calmly and conscientiously. He never sought the limelight but was content to work diligently in the background. John also served as club delegate to the North board where his opinion was valued and contributions were constructive. John was a selector with the intermediate, junior and minor teams. Prior to his arrival in the parish, he had done Trojan work with the Nenagh club. Between 1970 and 1975 he was elected as one the North Tipperary’s four representatives on the county board. Carmel and John will receive their awards at a function in The Dome, Semple Stadium on Sunday, November, 23rd.

The Annual General Meeting will take place on Friday, December 12th in the clubroom at 8.00pm. It will be preceded by Mass for deceased members in Cloughjordan Church at 7.30pm. All supporters, players and committee members are asked to keep that date free in their diaries.

The club extends sympathy to Nancy Sheppard, MacDonagh Avenue on the death of her mother.