Our Email

After last Sunday’s loss in the North semi-final the team must now regroup for the county championship which is expected to take place on the weekend of September 21st. The result was a bitter disappointment for the players and management who have put in such a huge effort this year. Very little would have swayed the game in MacDonaghs favour. The Burgess goal, which gave them a firm foothold in the game, had an element of good fortune to it. To Kilruane’s credit they were on level terms at the break.
In the second half a few crucial scoring efforts went the wrong side of the posts and most refereeing decisions seemed to go the way of Burgess. The count was actually 16-6. Attention will now focus on the county championship. The mettle, character and resilience of the team will be revealed in the next few weeks. Now is not the time for any player to be feeling sorry for himself. It is vital that the panel remains united and that supporters continue to back this team to the hilt as they face the new challenge of the county championship.

Under 12
Kilruane MacDonaghs qualified for the county final with a 6-5 to 3-3 victory against Drom-Inch in Templederry. Scorers: David Sullivan (3-2), James Loughnane (2-0), Kevin McDonald (1-0), Páidí Williams, Cormac Doheny and Nathan Lynch (0-1) each.

MacDonaghs claimed the county title for the third time with a 2-8 to 2-4 victory against Knockavilla in an exciting final in Templemore. This was a very significant triumph as it was the 50th county title to come to the parish. MacDonaghs had the aid of the light breeze in the first half. Páidí Williams opened the scoring in the third minute when he lofted a 65 over the black spot. Knockavilla drew level in the eight minute. A minute later Aaron Morgan raised a white flag to edge Kilruane ahead. In the thirteenth minute James Loughnane was fouled and Páidí Williams made no mistake from the resultant free. Knockavilla struck a purple patch with a goal in the sixteenth minute, followed by a point from a free to put them two points ahead. The momentum was now with the West champions but MacDonaghs responded well as halftime approached. Páidí Williams fired over two frees to leave the sides deadlocked at the break.

MacDonaghs drew first blood in the second half when James Loughnane found the net with a shot that seemed to go in off the butt of the post. Aaron Morgan added a point and MacDonaghs were three ahead. Knockavilla replied with point from a 65. Kilruane responded with a similar effort from James Loughnane. The sliotar was bundled into Knockavilla net with David Sullivan getting the credit. Knockavilla began to exert more pressure and were rewarded with a goal to leave just three points between the sides. David Sullivan hit a crucial point to provide a four point cushion. The MacDonaghs defence absorbed late pressure and at the final whistle four points separated the sides.

After the game Joe Kennedy, chairman of the County Board, presented the trophy to captain David Sullivan. Congratulations to the entire panel and the management team of Christy Morgan, Michael O’Meara and Michael O’Neill.
Team: Rory Grace, Colm Cleary, Eoin O’Meara, Shane McAteer, Aaron Morgan (0-2), Páidí Williams (0-4), Nathan Lynch, Paul O’Neill, Cormac Doheny, David Sullivan (1-1) and James Loughnane (1-1). Sub: Kevin McDonald. Remainder of panel: Eoin Carroll, Oisín Carroll, Pádraic Coonan, Fionnan Hurley, Barry Shanahan, Ciaran Coffey, Paul Dwyer, Kevin Naughnane, Dara Hannon, Cian White, Georgie O’Leary, Oisín Williams and Luke Donnelly.

In the semi-final Kilruane MacDonaghs play Nenagh on this Saturday, August 30th in Moneygall at 6.30pm. Your support would be appreciated.

The minors bowed out of the championship when they lost out to Nenagh on a 1-16 to 1-6 scoreline. MacDonaghs trailed by two points at the interval and five minutes into the second half only a point separated the sides. However, an impressive Nenagh side finished strongly and were deserving winners. Team: Niall Shinners, Arran Conroy, Brendan McAdams, Conor Lillis, Caoilainn Conroy, Darragh Peters, Martin Grace, James Cleary, Tom Dooley, Conor Doheny, Kieran Lillis, Jerome Cahill, Craig Morgan, Kevin Shinners and Cormac Mannion. Thanks to the players and the management team of Dinny Cahill, Sean Ward and Gilbert Williams for all their hard work during the year.

Under 16
Kilruane MacDonaghs have a home semi-final on Saturday, September 6th.

Under 8
The U8 hurlers travelled to Shinrone on last Friday and played four very enjoyable games. Thanks to Shinrone for the invitation. Panel: Michael Cleary, Shane Cleary, Fearghal Doheny, Cathal England, Cillian Franks, Diego Galero Kleobe, Cian Hayes, Michael Hennelly, William Jones, Johnny Naughnane, Darragh O’Leary, Dara O’Looney, Brian O’Meara, Donncha O’Meara, Jack Quinlisk, Ray Quinlivan and Dara White.

County Draw
Congratulations to Geraldine Morrissey, Garnafana, Toomevara who won €200 with the Kilruane MacDonaghs club in the weekly County Draw.

The monthly meeting of the club committee will be held on this Thursday, August 28th at 8.30pm. All committee members are requested to attend.

Congratulations to Patricia Monaghan, Borrisokane who scooped the €6,200 lotto jackpot. The jackpot resumes at a very attractive €2,000 with the next draw in the Fairways. Thanks for your continued support.

Fly the Colours
All parishioners are asked to fly the club and county colours in support of Niall O’Meara, Eamon O’Shea, John Casey and the Tipperary team as they bid for All-Ireland glory. St. Kieran’s Close has led way with a great splash of colour.