Our Email

Juvenile AGM
Chairman Sean Ward presided at a very successful and productive Juvenile AGM in the clubroom. He congratulated the victorious U16 and U14 sides and he thanked the large cohort of mentors and coaches who are doing Trojan work with the various teams. Secretary Mark Spain presented a very comprehensive report, in booklet form, which detailed all juvenile activities in 2013. The report can be viewed on the website. The following officers were elected: Presidents-Tom McLoughney, Fr. Tom Hannon and Fr. Enda Burke; Chairman-Sean Ward; Vice-Chairman-Christy Morgan; Secretary-Mark Spain; PRO-Gilbert Williams; North Board Delegate-John O’Meara; Child Welfare Officer-Mark Spain; School Liaison Officers- St. Michael’s Barney Naughnane, Ardcroney John O’Meara, Kilruane Gilbert Williams and Cloughjordan No 1 Brian England. Mentors and coaches were appointed for all teams: U16 Sean Ward (Manager), John Hyland, Ned Darcy and Johnny Peters; U14 Gilbert Williams (Manager), John Quinlan, Eoin Hogan and Tommy McDonald; U12 Christy Morgan (Manager), Michael O’Neill, Michael O’Meara, Pat Shanahan, Noel Coonan and Jody Hurley; U10 John Mulcahy (Manager), Alan Carroll, Martin Cahalan, Éanna Hogan and Justin Cahill; U8 Michael O’Meara (Manager), Mick Cleary, Mark O’Leary, John O’Meara, Peter Hennelly, Damien Franks, John Jones and Tom Quinlisk; U6 Eoin Kennedy, Martin O’Looney, Niall Healy, Lenny Gaynor, Ruan Casey, Ray Quinlivan, Cian Darcy and Niall Shinners.

Foundation Course
The juvenile club is linking up with the camogie club in organising a Foundation Coaching Course in the Complex. It commences on Thursday February 6th at 7.30pm and will continue on February 13th and February 20th. It is hoped that all juvenile mentors will be available to attend. It will be an ideal refresher course for coaches who have completed the Foundation Level in previous years. Games promotion officer David Needham will conduct the course.

Medal Presentation
The senior club is also joining forces with the camogie club for the presentation of medals. On Saturday March 8th the U21 hurlers, North champions, and the junior camogie team, that won the county final, will be presented with their medals at a function in The Thatch, Ballycommon. More details later.

Membership fees remain the same as last year: U6, U8 and U10 €10; U12, U14, U16 and U18 €20; players over minor €50 and non playing adults €20. Subscriptions are now due. Players should pay their respective managers and supporters can join with any committee member. Players can only participate in games when membership fee is paid. There is absolutely no exception to this. All paid up subscribers will receive a specially designed club membership card. Non playing adults, who join the club, will be put on text list. Paid-up members can also apply for match tickets and avail of discount in the Sportsmans Dream, Jim McLoughney’s, Tadhg Flaherty’s, JkC’S and the Zip Yard on the production of a valid membership card. In addition all adult players and members will be entered into a draw for two County Draw subscriptions 2014/2015 and one annual Club Lotto subscription. This draw will take place at the monthly committee meeting in March. Note that the club text list will be updated on March 31st to include only paid up members.

Joe Cahill and Damien Franks will be camogie club representatives on the committee. We know that they will make a valuable contribution to the committee and further strengthen the links between both clubs.

Adjourned AGM
At the Adjourned AGM the following sub committees were appointed:

Finance- George O’Leary, Michael Hogan, Joan Melia, Michael Cahill, Carmel Daly, Kay Cahalan, Susan O’Brien, Pat Shanahan, & Matt Cleary. Chairperson will be appointed at Finance Meeting on Wednesday Jan 29th.

Thomas MacDonagh Park- Michael Hogan (Chairman), Michael Banaghan, Michael Cahill, Jim O’Meara, Seamus Hennessy, Carmel Daly, Brian England, Michael Ryan, Jimmy Cahill & Gilbert Williams.

Games- Gilbert Williams (Chairman), George O’Leary, Sean Ward, Len Gaynor, John O’Meara, David Quinlan, Matt Cleary, Pat Shanahan, John Hyland & Jimmy Cahill.

Discipline Policy
In line with a recommendation in the new Five Year Plan the Club’s Discipline Policy is going to be updated. Sean Ward, John O’Meara and Gilbert Williams were delegated to do this. It is expected the new policy will be presented for ratification at the March committee meeting.

The following eight sellers are now involved in the new Saturday night rota for Cloughjordan: Michael Hogan, Liam Tierney, Gilbert Williams, Michael Cahill, Cronan Casey, Fiona Ryan, Seamus Hennessy and Damien Franks.

The monthly meeting of the club committee will be held on Friday February 21st at 8.00pm. The Club Plan will be launched on the same night at 9.15pm. Everybody is invited to the launch of the club Plan. Refreshments will be served.

At the North Tipperary 40x20 handball finals in Kilcolman there were good wins for Cormac Doheny James Loughnane and Jerome Cahill. Jack Mulcahy and Rory Grace performed very well and just missed out on victory.

St. Patrick’s Conference
A conference exploring the link between Sport and Spirituality takes place in St. Patrick’s College Thurles on Friday January 24th and Saturday January 25th. Eamon O’Shea is one of the guest speakers. Contact 0504-21201 for further information.

The club extends sympathy to Róisín Costello on the death of her mother Mary Lee, Kilcormac and to Paddy Murray, who captained the successful 1952 minor team, on the death of his sister Noreen.