Our Email

Under 21
Well done to the U21 hurlers who retained their North Tipperary title with a victory over Burgess on a 0-20 to 0-7 scoreline in Dolla. The Silvermines venue has proved to be a happy hunting ground for teams in black and white. One of our greatest U21 triumphs was achieved there against Thurles in 2010, while in 2006 the colours of Thurles were also laid low in the famous U21 semi-final. The most satisfying of all our U16 divisional wins took place in Dolla in 2004, when raging hot favourites Toomevara were toppled. Add in the U16 victory against Toomevara in 1991, the Féile win against Roscrea in 2009, the U12 success against Roscrea in 2011 and you can see why Dolla has become a favourite venue. What a week it has been for the MacDonaghs club. The U16s set the tone with the memorable county final triumph in Littleton and the U21s rose to the occasion as they laid their title on the line against a formidable Burgess outfit. These victories have helped shorten the winter for our faithful followers and given everyone in the parish a boost in these difficult times.

Eoin Williams became the twelfth captain of a successful Kilruane MacDonaghs U21 ‘A’ hurling team when he received the Michael Delaney trophy from John ‘Rocky’ McGrath, chairman of the North Tipperary Board. The previous captains were: Johnny O’Meara 1972; Dinny O’Meara 1973; Tom Killackey 1974: John Doheny 1975; Michael Hogan 1976; John Cahill 1978; Kevin Quinlan 2006; Stephen Murphy 2007; Gavin McAvinchey 2009; Paudie Kelly 2010 and Éanna Hogan 2012. MacDonaghs were contesting their sixteenth final and making their seventh appearance in the decider in eight years. We now extend our lead at the top of the roll of honour in this grade, two ahead of Toomevara. This was the 146th divisional title to come to the parish. Add in the 49 county titles, 1 Munster Club, 1 All-Ireland Sevens & 1 All-Ireland Club title and we can say with certainty that we are heirs to a proud tradition.

After a very good display against Nenagh, MacDonaghs entered this game as favourites. Burgess and Kilruane have been great rivals since their under ten days with many close encounters. They had drawn in the minor championship in 2010. However, on this occasion MacDonaghs sprung from the traps in a determined mood and seized the initiative in the opening minutes. The defence was in total control and kept a tight rein on the Burgess attack. The only scare occurred when Jack Peters and Éanna Hogan collided going for the one ball, which fell kindly for danger man Eoin Hogan. As supporter’s hearts skipped a beat, Jack made a quick recovery to snuff out the danger. At the interval MacDonaghs led on a 0-10 to 0-2 scoreline. The two Burgess scores had come from frees, courtesy of the stick of Eoin Hogan. A similar situation had occurred in the semi-final when the miserly Kilruane defence had limited the Nenagh attack to just two points from frees in the first half.

In the second half MacDonaghs expected the kitchen sink to be thrown at them and they were not surprised when Burgess went immediately on the offensive and fired over two points. However, just as they were beginning to build momentum Niall O’Meara was fouled. He bisected the posts from the resultant free. MacDonaghs soon added another point and the revival by Burgess was halted in its tracks. Burgess battled gamely to the end but MacDonaghs always had enough in hand.

Congratulations to the entire panel and the management team of John Hyland, Paddy Williams, John Quinlan, Mark O’Leary and Vince McKenna. Thanks to Jimmy Cahill who did the first aid and Tom Quinlisk who looked after the equipment. Thanks to Burgess who were very gracious and sporting in defeat. Kilruane MacDonaghs will play the winners of the Carrick Swan and St. Mary’s South final, which takes place next Saturday. The county semi-final is expected to take place on the weekend of December 6th. A DVD of the North final is available at a cost of €15. Orders must be with Gilbert Williams (087) 2176452 by this Friday. Photos can be viewed on website and Facebook.

GAA Quiz
Congratulations to the Ardcroney N.S. team of Katie O’Meara, Conor Ryan, Thomas Coonan, Jack Mulcahy and Anna Mulcahy who won the North Tipperary Primary Schools GAA Quiz, which was held in the Thomas MacDonagh Complex. They now go forward to the county final. Kilruane N.S. had two teams in the competition. Conor Quinlan, Cormac Doheny and Dylan Moran formed one team while Kieran Spain, Shane McAteer, James Loughnane and Louis Kennedy combined for the other outfit. Both teams acquitted themselves well but didn’t make the cut for the county final.

The monthly meeting of the club committee will be held on this Wednesday November 27th at 8.00pm. All committee members are requested to attend.

The Annual General Meeting has been pencilled in for Friday, December 13th at 8.00pm. Mass for deceased members will be celebrated in Cloughjordan Church at 7.30pm. All members are asked to keep that date free in their diary.

The club extends sympathy to Noreen Cahalan on the death of her father John Ryan, Ballinaclough.