Our Email

Munster Finals

Congratulations to Brian O’Meara and Jack Peters who picked up Munster medals last Sunday. Well done also to John Casey who was physio with the senior team. Brian was winning his second senior provincial medal, with Jack collecting his first minor accolade. Jack becomes the seventeenth MacDonaghs player to win a Munster minor hurling medal. The previous sixteen were: 1961 Liam White and Paddy Dwyer; 1962 Len Gaynor; 1973 Jim O’Meara, Mackey Waters, Joe Hutchinson and Seamus Hennessy; 1976 Eamon O’Shea and Enda Hogan; 1980 Michael Conway; 1987 George O’Leary and Liam Gleeson; 1991 Brian Gaynor; 1993 Martin Haverty; 2003 Ray McLoughney and 2007 Seamus Hennessy.

Senior Hurling

The senior hurlers play Knockavilla Kickhams in the first round of the county championship on Sunday in Templetuohy. Check fixtures for confirmation of time.

Community Games

The U-11 hurlers won the silver medal in the Munster Community Games final in UL. They proved too strong for an under strength St. Josephs Doora-Barefield side in the quarter-final with a comfortable victory on a 9-7 to 0-1. In the semi-final they gave an outstanding display and recorded a comprehensive win against Monaleen of Limerick on a 13-3 to 2-2 scoreline. Scorers: Matthew Moyles (2-2), James Sullivan (2-1), James Loughnane (2-0), Kian O’Kelly (2-0), Rory Grace (1-0), Ben Cahalan (1-0), Kevin McDonald (1-0), Fionnán Hurley (1-0) and Barry Shanahan (1-0). In the final they faced the Cork champions Douglas. This was a terrific tussle and at the interval Douglas led on a 2-2 to 1-3 scoreline. Despite the best efforts of a gallant MacDonaghs side, they couldn’t reel in the opposition who took the gold medal on a 5-5 to 2-3 scoreline. Scorers: Rory Grace (1-0), Aaron Morgan (1-0), Kian O’Kelly (0-1), Matthew Moyles (0-1) and David Sullivan (0-1). Well done to the entire panel and the management team of Jody Hurley, Michael O’Neill, Martin Walsh and Michael Loughnane on a great campaign. Panel: Páidí Williams, Eoin O’Meara, Louis Kennedy, Paul O’Neill, Cormac Doheny, Dylan Moran, Shane McAteer, Aaron Morgan, David Sullivan, Matthew Moyles, James Loughnane, Ben Cahalan, Kian O’Kelly, Rory Grace, Colm Cleary, Daniel Costello, Kevin McDonald, Oisín Carroll, Barry Shanahan and Fionnán Hurley.

U-14 Hurling

The U-14 hurlers booked a semi-final spot with a 4-7 to 2-7 away win against Toomevara. They led by a point at the break and managed to drive on for a six point win. Team: Mark O’Neill, Eoghan Mulcahy, Arran Conroy, Conor Lillis, Kevin Shinners, Rory McCarthy, Nathan Ryan, Jerome Cahill, Ben Healy, Sean McAdams, Martin Grace, Jake O’Kelly, Cormac Mannion, Cian Darcy and Luke Dervan. Sub: Sean Quinlan, John Blagdon, Christopher Moyles, Kevin Oakley and Liam Hannon.

U-16 Hurling

The U-16 hurlers were beaten in Templederry by the home side on a 4-15 to 1-9 scoreline. MacDonaghs had to line out without Paul Guidera who suffered a broken collarbone in training and Brendan McAdams who sustained a similar injury in rugby training. Cian Darcy and Conor Lillis were unavailable, Willie Ryan has opted out of hurling due to a demanding commitment to rugby, while another player has retired from hurling. Ten of the starting fifteen are underage for 2013. The final score does scant justice to the team’s efforts. Templederry made a whirlwind start and had 2-4 on the scoreboard before the MacDonaghs got their bearings. The selectors reshuffled the deck and gradually Kilruane began to stem the tide. At the break the score was 2-11 to 1-6 in favour of the home side. The second half was much more even with a late Templederry goal giving them a rather flattering winning margin. MacDonaghs battled to the end and there were good performances from Darragh Peters, Kieran Brereton, Caolainn Conroy, James Cleary and Rory McCarthy. Team: Niall Shinners, John Blagdon, Jack Farrell, Keelan Troy, Arran Conroy, Darragh Peters (0-1), Ciaran Spillane, Caolainn Conroy (0-1), James Cleary (0-2), Kieran Brereton (0-1), Kieran Lillis Martin Grace, Kevin Shinners (1-0), Rory McCarthy (0-2) and Conor Doheny (0-2). Subs: Jerome Cahill, Conor Kelly and Liam Hannon.

Primary Game

Gillian McSherry Ardcroney N.S. and Laura Tierney Kilruane N.S. lined out on the Tipperary Primary Game camogie team in Páirc Uí Chaoímh last Sunday.

Minor Hurling

The minor hurlers take on Roscrea in the first round of the championship MacDonagh Park on this Thursday evening at 7.00pm.

Junior Hurling

The junior hurlers pay Borris-Ileigh in the second round of the championship in Moneygall on this Friday evening at 7.00pm.


The club would like to extend its sympathy to Denise Hennessy Knocknacree on the death of her father Sean Dillon Dublin.