Our Email


Kilruane MacDonaghs captured the Maher Cup for the fourth time when they had five points to spare against Nenagh in Ballingarry on 1-15 to 2-6 scoreline . MacDonaghs were the first holders of the Cup in 2001 when Ray McLoughney captained the side to victory against Moneygall. Justin Cahill followed in his footsteps when Kilruane overcame Newport in 2006 and Aidan Boyle led the 2009 team to glory against Roscrea. The sides were level at the interval and were still deadlocked with five minutes to go when Kilruane tacked on 1-3 without reply to take the title. After the game North Board chairman Mike Flynn presented the trophy to captain Paul Guidera. In the county semi-final they will face Drom-Inch. Team: Niall Shinners, Arran Conroy, Kieran Brereton, Brendan McAdams, Cian Darcy, Willie Ryan, Conor Lillis, Jerome Cahill, Paul Guidera, Craig Morgan (0-1), Darragh Peters (0-7), James Cleary (1-4), Martin Grace, Rory McCarthy (0-3), and Declan Elderfield. Subs: Sean Quinlan, Kevin Shinners and Tommy Dooley.

Junior Hurling

The junior A hurlers were beaten by Borris-Ileigh in the second round of the league on a 2-15 to 2-11 scoreline. In the third round they are at home to Ballina on this weekend. Check fixtures.

Senior Hurling

The senior hurlers take on Moneygall in the second round of the championship in Toomevara on this Sunday at 1.30 p.m.

U-12 Football

The U-12 footballers played Ballina on last Friday night in MacDonagh Park. They won the A match and drew the B match.

U-6 Hurling

Training for the U-6 hurlers will not take place on Good Friday but will resume on Friday April 29th at 6.30 p.m.

MacDonagh Festival

The MacDonagh Festival April 28th to May 2nd will have a number of events which will be of particular interest to our supporters. On Friday April 28th Cloughjordan Heritage (Vol 6) will be launched in the clubroom at 8.00 p.m. This book contains articles on club president Tom Cleary and Seamus Hennessy as well a number of G.A.A. related photographs. On Sunday May 1st the Thomas MacDonagh pipe band from Templemore will lead a parade from the Windmill at 5.30 p.m. to MacDonagh Park. The U-12, hurlers North and county champions, will carry the Liam McCarthy Cup in the parade. On the same evening Sinead McCoole will give a talk in the clubroom on the Widows and Dependants of the 1916 signatories.