Our Email

Junior C Hurling
The junior C hurlers lost out to Shannon Rovers after extra time in the semi-final on a 3-12 to 1-14
scoreline. MacDonaghs began brightly and were deservedly six points ahead at the break. Backed
by the breeze Rovers clawed their way back into the game and they hit the front. However, Kilruane
rallied and the sides were deadlocked at the end of normal time with the score 1-11 to 2-8. Rovers got
a tonic start to extra time with a fortuituous goal and they maintained this advantage to the end despite
a game effort from MacDonaghs. Team: Robert Ward, Cian Williams, Fergus England, Timmy Walsh,
Eoin Burns, David Slattery, Kevin Prout, Morgan Conway (0-4), Alan Darcy, Keith Kelly (1-6), Niall
Murphy, Robert Austin, Ronan Boyle, Sean Hayes (0-1) and Bill Dooley. Subs: James Sullivan (0-2)
and Danny Reddan. Thanks to the panel and management for their effort during the year.

U-21 Hurling
The U-21 semi-final against Lorrha is pencilled in for this week. Check fixtures.

Junior A Hurling
The junior A hurlers are waiting patiently for the county quarter-final fixture against the south

U-8 Hurling
Last Saturday the U-8 hurlers travelled to Thurles to play two eleven-a-side games against Durlas
Og. They met county stars Paddy Stapleton, Michael Cahill and Bill McCormack. They had their
photograph taken with the Tipperary players who had the Liam McCarthy Cup, the Cross of Cashel
trophy and the Munster U-21 cups with them. Paddy Stapleton presented each of the MacDonaghs
players with a souvenir medal in recognition of the effort made by the panel who played twenty games
during a busy season. Thanks to Durlas Og for their hospitality on the day and thanks also to the
enthusiastic MacDonaghs mentors who organised an extensive schedule of games and training during
the year. Check website for photographs.

Schools Football
Kilruane N.S. had a narrow away victory against Puckane N.S. on a 3-3 to 3-0 scoreline in the first
round of the championship. Team: Darragh Buckley, Seamus O Meara, Arran Conroy, Oisin O Meara,
Sean Quinlan, Shane O Meara, Tommy Dooley, Ben Healy, Grady Jones, Conor Lillis, Mark O Neill
Craig Morgan and Cormac Mannion. In the second round they will play Ballina N.S.

County Draw
Congratulations to Ann Healy Ard Mhuire Nenagh and Shane Heffernan Ardcroney who won €200
each in the county draw.

The club would like to extend sympathy to the O Meara family Glenahilty on the death of Jim
O Meara. The late Jim played junior hurling with Kyle before he progressed on to the Kilruane
MacDonaghs senior team. He lined out at corner back in the 1952 and 1953 north finals but
MacDonaghs lost out to the powerful Borris-Ileigh team of that period. Jim was a shrewd mentor and
along with Len Gaynor and Jimmy Gibson he was on the line when Kilruane MacDonaghs won the
minor county final in 1971 and four U-21 county titles between 1973 and 1976. His coffin was draped
in the MacDonaghs colours and club members formed a guard of honour as his funeral entered the