Our Email

All-Ireland Final

Congratulations to Seamus Hennessy, Brian O Meara, coach Eamonn O Shea, physio John Casey, all the Tipperary team and management on the magnificent success in Croke Park. Seamus and Brian join Tom McLoughney, Len Gaynor and Mark O Leary as proud holders of a Celtic Cross. Thanks to all our parishioners who flew the blue and gold and black and white in support of Liam Sheedy’s men. The parish hasn’t witnessed such a splash of colour since the club final in 1986.

Up for the Match

U-12 player Jerome Cahill and his sister Roisin had the honour of naming the Tipperary team on the Up for the Match programme. Len Gaynor and Tom McLoughney also featured.

U-12 Hurling

The U-12 hurlers made history when they won the county title for the first time by defeating St. Marys Clonmel on a 3-5 to 2-3 scoreline in Semple Stadium. The south champions had a two point lead at the break but on the resumption Sean Quinlan flicked a Jerome Cahill cross to the net to send MacDonaghs on their merry way. Further goals from Kevin Shinners and Rory McCarthy helped to build up a seven point lead. St. Marys hit a goal and a point in injury time but Craig Morgan had the final score with a pointed free to leave Kilruane four points ahead at the end. After the game county chairman of Bord na nOg Sean Creamer presented the trophy to captain Cian Darcy amid scenes of great jubilation. Congratulations to the entire panel, manager Christy Morgan and selectors, Ned Darcy, Brian O Meara, Mark O Meara and Niall O Meara on this historic triumph.

Junior Hurling

The junior A hurlers qualified for the North final when they had a hard fought victory against Nenagh in Toomevara on a 2-13 to 2-10 scoreline. MacDonaghs held a slender one point leads at the break. Nenagh went two points ahead on the turnover but James Williams scored a crucial goal from a free to tilt the balance in favour of Kilruane. Nenagh fought stubbornly to the end but MacDonaghs managed to keep their noses ahead. In the final they will face Toomevara. Team: Brian Gaynor, Eanna Hogan, Martin Walsh, Freddie Williams, Willie Cleary, Colm Williams, Shane Williams, Ruan Casey, Jonathan Cahill (0-1), James Williams (1- 8 ), Denis Cahill (0-1), David Williams (0-1), Pat Conway (0-1), Thomas Cleary and Declan Barrett (1-1). Subs: Eoin Williams.

Minor Hurling

The minor hurlers lost out to a sharper Nenagh team in the semi-final. Although only two points separated the sides at the finish the better team booked their place in the final. Thanks to the players and selectors for all their work during the year.

Junior C Hurling

The junior C hurlers lost at home to Nenagh on a 2-9 to 1-7 scoreline. MacDonaghs led by a point at the break but ran out of steam in the second half as Nenagh finished stronger to take the points. They are still in the hunt for a semi-final spot with games against Shannon Rovers and Ballinahinch still to come. Team: Robert Ward, Fergus England, Colin England, Cian Williams, Eoin Burns, David Slattery, Timmy Walsh, Alan Darcy, Scott Hodgins, Robert Austin, Kevin Prout, Morgan Conway, Ronan Boyle, Sean Hayes and Mark Spain. Subs: Finbarr McLoughney and Niall Murphy.

Senior Hurling

The senior hurlers play Roscrea in Semple Stadium in the quarter-final of the O Riain Cup on Tuesday September 14th. Check fixtures of confirmation of time.

All-Ireland U-21

Best of luck to Seamus Hennessy and Brian O Meara in the All-Ireland U-21 final against Galway.