Our Email

 U-12 Final

The U-12 hurlers retained their North title when they overcame Roscrea in Dolla on an 8-2 to 3-5 scoreline. Kilruane MacDonaghs were making their seventh appearance in the final of this championship which faces abolition in 2011. A blistering start which yielded 4-1 inside the first quarter laid the foundation the club’s fourth title in this grade. Roscrea fought hard all through and it wasn’t until captain Rory McCarthy raced through for the last goal that the issue was put beyond doubt. After the game, John Heffernan representing Brian Heffernan the first captain an U-12 winning team in 1972, presented the Michael Geaney Cup to Rory amid scenes of great joy and jubilation. Congratulations to the entire panel, manager Christy Morgan and selectors Ned Darcy, Mark O Meara , Brian O Meara and Niall O Meara. Thanks to Roscrea who were worthy final opponents and very gracious in defeat. Well done to the North Board and the Silvermines club for their excellent arrangements which helped make it a memorable occasion for all six teams participating in the finals. Kilruane MacDonaghs now play the west champions in the county semi-final. Cian Darcy sustained a fractured jaw in the second half and will miss the remainder of the championship. The club wishes him a speedy recovery. Team: Mark O Neill, Eoghan Mulcahy, Arran Conroy, Liam Hannon, Luke Dervan, Jerome Cahill, Tommy Dooley, Cian Darcy (2-0), Martin Grace, Sean Quinlan, Craig Morgan (1-2), Ben Healy, Cormac Mannion (3-0), Kevin Shinners (1-0) and Rory McCarthy (1-0). Sub: Sean McAdams, Oisin O Meara, Karl Williams, Kevin Oakley, Rob Banaghan and Devlin Courtney. A comprehensive report can be found on

Final DVD

Copies of the U-12 final DVD can be ordered from secretary John O Meara 087-2740187. The DVD costs €10 and orders must be with John by this Saturday August 14th.

Junior Hurling

The junior A hurlers completed the group stage with a win against Portroe in Kilcolman on a 1-20 to 0-10 scoreline. MacDonaghs led by four points at the break and took a firm grip on the game with a second half Thomas Cleary goal. Team: Brian Gaynor, Freddie Williams, Eanna Hogan, Shane Williams, Willie Cleary, Colm Williams, Cormac Williams, Ruan Casey, Jonathan Cahill, James Williams (0-11), Edmond Morkan (0-1), Denis Cahill, Pat Conway (0-1), Thomas Cleary (1-4) and Eoin Williams (0-3). Sub: David Williams. The semi-final will take place at the end of August.

Minor Hurling

The minor hurlers are at home to Nenagh Eire Og on this Wednesday August 11th at 7.15 p.m.

Junior C Hurling

The junior C hurlers play Kildangan in the second round of the championship in Puckane on this Friday evening August 13th at 7.15 p.m.

Bag Packing

On this Saturday August 14th the juvenile club has organized a Bag Packing Day in Dunnes Limerick Road Nenagh between 9.00 a.m and 7.00 p.m. in order to raise finance for a new set of jerseys. The club would like to thank all parents who have volunteered to help out on the day. There are still some slots to be filled so if you can spare an hour or two contact Jody Hurley 086-2757208 who is co-ordinating the work schedule or get in touch with chairman Sean Ward 087-6537799 or secretary John O Meara 087-2749187.

Superstars Camp

A hurling and camogie Superstars Camp will be held in MacDonagh Park from Monday August 23rd until Friday August 27th from 10.00 a.m. to 2.00 p.m. each day. The Camp is open to boys and girls from the ages of 6 to 14 inclusive. The cost is €50 for the first child and €40 for each subsequent child. There will be daily visits from intercounty stars. Application forms are available from Seamus Hennessy 087-7432984, Brian O Meara 087-6497946, Philip Heenan 087-2887830 or Ann O Meara 086-3067239. Forms are also available in the local shops. Completed forms with the appropriate fee must be returned by Monday August 16th.