Our Email

Senior Hurling

Thanks to a six point win against Nenagh Eire Og on a 2-14 to 1-11 scoreline the senior hurlers booked their place in the quarter final of the North championship where they will take on Burgess. Against all the odds they fashioned a famous victory against the reigning champions. MacDonaghs couldn’t call on the services of injured players Eoin Hogan, Paudie Kelly, Mark O Meara, Ger Corcoran, Thomas Cleary and Kevin Quinlan while Mikey Costello and Diarmuid Cahill were out of the country. Seamus Hennessy took the field despite having sustained a broken toe while training with Tipperary. His presence in the unusual position of full forward was an inspiration to his colleagues. Although his mobility was severely hampered he gave an outstanding display and his determination in overcoming the pain barrier should be a shining example to all players in the club. This was Kilruane MacDonaghs first victory against Nenagh in the senior championship since the semi-final in 1990. Kilruane went on to defeat Toomevara in the final.

Cumann na mBunscoil

Last Thursday was a magnificent day for the parish in Semple Stadium. Kilruane N.S. defeated Clerihan N.S. on a 5-2 to 1-3 scoreline to win the U-11 hurling county final with Ardcroney U-13 camogie team following suit in overcoming Loughmore N.S. on a 6-1 to 0-2 scoreline. Aided by the breeze in the first half Kilruane took an early grip on the game. With Jake Morris outstanding at full back, Tommy Dooley and Craig Morgan dominating midfield and supplying a liberal amount of ball to the attack, full forward Conor Lillis helped himself to four first half goals. Mark O Neill, Shane O Meara and Ben Healy were also contributing handsomely to a great team effort. Clerihan fought valiantly in the second half but couldn’t bridge the gap. After the game Aodan Wrenn, secretary of Cumann na mBunscoil presented the trophy to captain Tommy Dooley. This was Kilruane’s fourth Cumann na mBunscoil county title. They had previously won the U-13 hurling in 2001, the seven-a-side hurling in 2005 and the U-13 camogie in 2009.

Inspired by magnificent displays from Roisin Cahill and Emma Cleary the Ardcroney camogie team proved too strong for Loughmore and were deserving winners of the school’s second county title. The U-13 hurlers had tasted success in 2004.

Junior C Hurling

The junior C hurlers lost out to Burgess in the league semi-final in Portroe on a 2-14 to 2-13 scoreline. MacDonaghs led by four points at the break but aided by the strengthening breeze Burgess gradually got a grip and held a two point lead entering added time. Kilruane applied late pressure but couldn’t secure the equalizer. Team: Robert Ward, Fergus England, Colin England, Cian Williams, Cormac Williams, David Slattery, Timmy Walsh, Pat Conway, Kevin Prout, Morgan Conway, Denis Cahill, James Williams, David Williams, Sean Hayes and Eoin Williams. Sub: Alan Darcy.

Junior A Hurling

The junior A hurlers play Roscrea in the first round of the championship in Ballingarry on this Friday at 7.30 p.m.

Parish League

On this Saturday Kyle take on De Wets in the final of the Parish League. This will be preceded by the Plate Final between Ballycapple and Rapla at 11 o clock.

County Draw

Congratulations to Des Gaynor Rapla who won €200 in this month’s county draw.