Our Email

Juvenile AGM

A very successful and well attended Juvenile AGM was held in the clubroom last Friday. Chairman Sean Ward conducted proceedings in his customary efficient manner with his meticulous preparations in the preceding weeks ensuring that all positions were filled on the night. The following were elected to steer affairs for 2010; Presidents; Fr. Tom Hannon, Fr. Enda Burke and Tom McLoughney; Chairman Sean Ward; Vice-Chairman Christy Morgan; Secretary John O Meara; P.R.O. Gilbert Williams; Child Welfare Officer Sarah Ryan; North Board delegate John O Meara. The management teams for all age groups were ratified; U-6 George O Leary, John Mulcahy, Ken Curran and Denis Powell; U-8 Michael O Neill, Jody Hurley and Michael Grace; U-10 Jimmy Cahill, Brian England and Colin England; U-12 Christy Morgan, Ned Darcy and Mark O Meara; U-14 Liam Grace, D.J. Hayes, Michael Reddan and Justin Cahill; U-16 Stephen Murphy, Sean Ward and Gilbert Williams. A review of the juvenile year can be viewed on the website

Juvenile Presentation

The Juvenile Presentation will take place in The Complex on this Friday January 29th at 7.30 p.m. The successful U-10, U-12 and U-14 hurlers will receive their medals. Parents and players are requested to be present at 7.15 p.m. in order that the function can have a punctual start. Proceedings won’t be delayed to facilitate latecomers. Guest of honour will be the 2009 All-Star fullback Padraig Maher of Thurles Sarsfields.


The first committee of the year has been rescheduled for Thursday February February 4th at 8.00 p.m. to avoid a clash with the Camogie Club AGM.


Membership is now due and can be paid to any committee member. The subscriptions for 2010 are: adult players €40, student players €20, non-playing adults €20 and juveniles €10. Membership is compulsory for all players and the closing date for renewal is March 31st.


The club would like to extend its sympathy to the family of the late Jimmy Gibson who gave tremendous service to the club as a player and a mentor. He first came to prominence in the green and gold jersey when he filled the centre back berth on the minor team which won the club’s inaugural title in that grade in 1952. Jimmy progressed quickly to the senior team and won his first North senior medal in 1959 when MacDonaghs overcame Toomevara. He was called on to the Tipperary panel the following year and won a national league medal. Jimmy collected his second divisional senior medal in 1965 when a late goal from Sean Williams helped Kilruane overcome Lorrha. He is rightly regarded as one of the best players ever produced by the club. He had few peers as a centreback where his uncanny positional strength and flawless reading of the game combined with outstanding hurling ability and exceptional strength made him a formidable opponent. Jimmy was acknowledged as a shrewd operator on the line and he was a selector on successful minor and U-21 hurling teams which won divisional and county honours in the early seventies, He also trained the senior hurling team which contested the north and county deciders in 1973. Jimmy was honoured with a Sean Ghael award in 2005 in recognition of his invaluable contribution to the Kilruane MacDonaghs club. He was also a noted ploughman and won numerous competitions in a successful career. An impressive guard of honour led by his colleagues from the ’59 and ’65 teams flanked his funeral cortege as it entered the village. His coffin, draped in club colours, was carried shoulder high to Jimmy’s final resting place by his former comrades. Gilbert Williams delivered the graveside oration. Leaba i measc na naomh do. (Check the profile section in The club would also like to sympathise with the family of the late Stephen Killackey Br. Mhuire and the O Brien family Windmill on the death of Breda Lonergan.