Our Email


The biggest crowd in a number of years gathered in the clubroom last Friday night for the Annual General Meeting. The meeting was preceded by Mass for deceased members in Cloughjordan Church. Kevin O Brien presented a very detailed set of accounts which showed the club to be on a sound financial footing despite the huge expenditure involved in running the day to day affairs and the capital cost of the hurling wall. Thanks to Kevin for putting his financial expertise at the disposal of the club. It is very much appreciated. Treasurer Michael Cahill and assistant treasurer Denis Cahill were lauded for the manner in which they handled the finances of the club during the year. In a concise and perceptive report secretary Kay Cahalan recounted the on and off the field activities of the club during 2009. In his address chairman Connie Grace thanked everybody who assisted the club in any way during the year and he called for a renewed effort by all members during the coming season. All the major positions were filled on the night with the minimum of fuss. The following were elected to guide the club for 2010: Presidents-Fr, Tom Hannon, Fr. Enda Burke, Tom Cleary and Paddy McCarthy; Vice-Presidents-Mick O Meara (Carriganagh),Martin O Meara, Roche Williams and Tom McLoughney; Chairman-George O Leary; Secretary-Kay Cahalan; Assistant Secretary-Mary McLoughney; Treasurer-Michael Cahill and PRO Gilbert Williams. The positions of vice-chairman and assistant-treasurer will be filled at the Adjourned AGM. The outgoing chairman Connie Grace stepped down after three years at the helm and the club would like to thank him for his valuable contribution during that time. The new chairman George O Leary is following in the family tradition. His great grandfather, also called George O Leary, was chairman of the legendary De Wets who won seven of the eighteen North senior hurling titles which have come to the parish.

Adjourned AGM

The Adjourned AGM has been fixed for Friday January 15th. The managers of the various teams will be ratified at that meeting.

Vodafone support Your Club

Over four hundred members have already registered with Kilruane MacDonaghs for the Vodafone Support Your Club scheme. This will give a great boost to club funds while costing absolutely nothing to the individual subscribers. You can register for the scheme by contacting secretary Kay Cahalan 087-9059592. 20% of your top or bill goes to the club. Your support can help the club reach its target of 500 registered members in the scheme.

GAA Quiz

Ardcroney N.S. participated in the North Final of the G.A.A. Quiz which was held recently in Nenagh. They came second which earned them a place in the county final in Thurles. The county final proved to be a titanic struggle with Ardcroney N.S. and Borrisoleigh N.S. finishing level after eight rounds, with each team scoring 59 out of a possible 64. After the first tie break and the second tie break they still couldn’t be separated. In the last tie break Borrisoleigh came out on top with one mark to spare. Congratulations to the Ardcroney team of Patrick Hayes, Roisin Cahill, Jerome Cahill and Daniel Ryan on a magnificent performance and a special word of thanks to their teacher Martin Ryan who had them so well prepared. Well done to Borrisoleigh on their victory.


The Lotto jackpot wasn’t won on December 15th and now stands at €3,300. The numbers drawn were 11-16-21-23. There will be no draw on December 29th, The Lotto will resume on Monday January 4th and will continue each Monday after that. The change to Monday night will enable the club to advertise the results in the guardian each week as been the practice since the Lotto commenced in 1996.

Seasons Greetings

The club would like to wish all members and supporters at home and away a peaceful Christmas.