Our Email

Following the celebration of Mass for deceased members by club president Fr. Tom Hannon in Cloughjordan Church, a well attended Annual General Meeting was held in the clubroom on last Friday.

In his address chairman Connie Grace congratulated the minor footballers and the senior hurlers on their success and county players Seamus Hennessy, Eoin Hogan and Ray McLoughney on winning Munster u-21 hurling medals. He also highlighted the contribution of Eamon O Shea and John Casey to the victories of the Tipperary senior hurlers.

He thanked players, selectors and committee for their work during the year and expressed his optimism for the coming season. In a perceptive report secretary Kay Cahalan gave a comprehensive analysis of both on and off the field activities during 2008. Kevin O Brien presented a very detailed set of accounts which showed the club to be in a sound financial position despite the huge expenditure incurred during the year. Tributes were paid to treasurer Michael Cahill and assistant treasurer Denis Cahill for the efficient and professional manner in which they had managed the club finances.

The following officers were elected: Presidents-Fr. Tom Hannon, Fr. Enda Burke, Tom Cleary and Paddy McCarthy; Vice-Presidents-Mick O Meara, Martin O Meara, Roche Williams and Robert O Leary; Chairman- Connie Grace; Vice-Chairman-John Cahill; Secretary-Kay Cahalan; Assistant Secretary-Mary McLoughney; Treasurer-Michael Cahill; Assistant Treasurer-Denis Cahill; P.R.O.-Gilbert Williams; County Board Delegate-Len Gaynor; North Board Delegates- Jim Casey and Connie Grace.

The following management teams were also appointed: Senior Hurling- Oisin O Neill (Manager) Christy Morgan, John Hyland and John Quinlan; Junior Hurling- Joe Whelan ( Manager) Tom Killackey and Ger Williams; U-21 Hurling- Paddy Williams ( Manager) Christy Morgan, John Quinlan, John Hyland and Pat Shanahan; Minor Hurling- Brian Gaynor ( Manager ) Mick Cleary, David Quinlan and Eoin Hogan.

Senior Hurling
Seamus Hennessy has been appointed captain of the senior hurling team for 2009. At nineteen years of age he becomes the youngest ever captain of the MacDonaghs senior team.

County Scene
Seamus Hennessy lined out on the Tipperary senior hurling team, which defeated Waterford and UL in the Waterford Crystal Cup. Ray McLoughney played for Waterford IT in their victories over Kerry and Cork in the same competition but they lost out to Clare in the semi-final. Stephen Murphy has been recalled to the Tipperary senior football side and filled the centre-forward spot in their defeat against U.C.C. in the McGrath Cup

The club would like to extend its sympathy to the Duff family Ballygibbon and the Alwood family MacDonagh Avenue on their recent bereavements.