Our Email

County Junior A Finalists – Kilruane MacDonaghs

The County final of the Junior A championship took place on Saturday last in Dolla against Annacarty. This was a tough match against a very strong physical Annacarty team. Annacarty had 2 points on the scoreboard before Kilruane got their first score, a goal by Shauna Tooher. Annacarty went in at half-time leading 0-6 to 1-0. Kilruane started the 2nd half in a blaze of glory and had the deficit back to 1 point after 10 minutes. However, Annacarty weathered the storm running out Junior A winners on a scoreline of 0-10 to 1-3.

This was a great achievement for this young team who won last year’s Junior B league and championship, moved up to Junior A and contested a second county final within 12 months, a remarkable feat for a team which fielded 11 minors in the starting 15. This is due to the hard work and commitment by the team management during the year, Bernie Meagher, Diarmuid Cahill, Martin Walsh and John Hyland.

Thanks to Peter McCarthy, who looked after the first aid for the team. Thanks also to Kilruane MacDonaghs Hurling Club who sponsored the meal for the players and management in the Gourmet Gallery on Saturday evening.


The U12 team put up a tremendous display of talent and grit to overcome a very strong Ballina team in the last group league match on Saturday in Ardcroney. At half-time, Ballina were in the driving seat, leading 1-2 to 0-0. The second half resumed and within 5 minutes, Ballina had gone 8 points up with another goal. Kilruane rallied and were rewarded with goals from Caroline Hill and Grainne Molloy. Amy Quinlisk added a point from a 45 to bring the full-time score to 3-1 to 2-2. Kilruane are now through to the County Semi-final on this Saturday against Boherlahan, time and venue to be confirmed.

Team: Meadhbh Heenan, Sile Spain, Tara Lillis (B), Tara Lillis (K), Leah Coen, Bronagh Hogan (Capt), Sophie O’Neill-Reidy, Grainne Molloy, Amy Quinlisk, Gillian McSherry (Vice-Capt), Bonny Conroy, Laura Shinners, Aoife Sullivan, Caroline Hill, Mikela McGrath. Subs: Catherine Tighe, Michaela Lillis, Katie Gould, Clodagh Healy, Emma Conroy, Britney Hogan, Tinashe Rotani, Amy Hill.