Our Email

County Football Final

The Kilruane MacDonaghs senior football team which won the 1975 county final were guests of honour at last Sunday’s decider between Moyle Rovers and Aherlow in Semple Stadium. The day began with a reception for the team in the magnificent new Dome where county chairman Barry O Brien welcomed the large club contingent. After the minor final county P.R.O. Ger Ryan introduced the team to the crowd. At the conclusion of the senior final the team headed to the Templemore Arms for dinner. Pat Carey representing the Clonmel Nationalist. Seamus King chairman of the organising committee, John Costigan representing the County board and Noel Morris chairman of the Football Board addressed the gathering. Gilbert Williams replied on behalf of the 1975 panel. Each player was presented with a framed photograph of the team, which had been taken earlier in the day, and also a commerorative scroll. The club would like to thank the sponsors Templemore Arms Hotel and the Clonmel Nationalist. Thanks to Seamus King, Pat Carey, Ger Ryan and John Costigan who organised the day in a very professional manner and ensured that it was a memorable occasion for players, club oficials and their partners. Thanks also to Bridget Delaney who was with us throughout the day to record the proceedings on camera. Log on to www.kilruanemacdonaghs to see photographs.

Schools Football

Kilruane N.S. won their fifth North Schools football title when they overcame Templederry N.S. in Toomevara on a 4-5 to 1-6 scoreline. Kilruane played against the wind in the first half and a Craig Hilmi goal helped them stay in touch with Templederry who enjoyed a two point interval lead with the score 1-3 to 1-1. With the elements at their backs Kilruane began to enjoy territorial advantage and goals from Craig Morgan, James Cleary and Craig Hilmi paved the way for victory. After the game Len Gaynor presented the trophy to captain Darragh Peters. Thanks to Christy McLoughlin who refereed and the Toomevara club for making their pitch available. Team: Chris Donaldson, Jake Morris, Alex Jones, Sean Quinlan, Darragh Peters, Lianne O Kelly, James Cleary (1-0), Cormac Mannion, Craig Morgan (1-0), Conor Lillis, Tommy Dooley, Craig Hilmi (2-4) and Declan Elderfield. Subs: Ben Healy (0-1), Mark O Neill, Grace O Brien, Annalise Reilly, Arran Conroy, Darragh Buckley, Grady Jones, Oisin O Meara, Christopher Moyles, Sean Clarke, Shane O Meara, Seamus O Meara, Jake O Kelly and Alan Spain. Full report on website.


The jackpot wasn’t won last week and now stands at €10,900. The numbers drawn were 7-11-27-28.


The club would like to extend its sympathy to John Lawlor Lisgarode on the death of his brother Paddy.