Our Email

All-Ireland Final

Comiserations to the Tipperary team who gave a magnificent performance in a thrilling All-Ireland Final and lost no honour in defeat. Thanks to our supporters for the tremendous display of blue and gold throughout the parish.


Congratulations to Philip Heenan Cloughjordan who won first prize in the recent draw organised by the County Board to raise funds for the Tipperary team. Philip won two tickets to the All-Ireland Final and along with his wife Helen was chauffeured to Croke Park in a Limousine, attended the after match banquet and will also go on the team holiday. Philip is deeply involved with the camogie club and is also part of the backroom team with the Kilruane MacDonaghs senior team.

All-Ireland Sevens

The senior hurlers had a great run in the All-Ireland Sevens in Kilmacud, reaching the final where they lost out to Moycarkey–Borris. In the opening round they had a 7-7 to 4-4 win against Youghal, followed by 9-2 to 5-3 victory against the hosts Kilmacud Crokes and they emerged group winners when they overcame JK Brackens on a 9-3 to 4-8 scoreline. A 5-7 to 1-5 win against Raheny booked a place in the semi-final where they accounted for Ballinahassig of Cork on 4-9 to 2-9 scoreline. However, this victory was achieved at a cost as Eoin Hogan received a serious knee injury and was ruled out of the final. His absence was sorely felt in a high scoring decider as MacDonaghs went under to Moycarkey on an 8-11 to 4-15 scoreline. Well done to the panel who acquitted themselves so well: Brian O Meara, Pádraig Kelly, Eoin Hogan, Mark O Leary, Ray McLoughney, Shane Quinlan, Mikey Costello, Kevin Quinlan, Mark O Meara and Gavin McAvinchey. Congratulations to our fellow Tipperary men Moycakey-Borris on their succcess.

U-12 Hurling

The U-12 hurlers were just edged out by Moyle Rovers in the county semi-final which was played in testing conditions in the Ragg. After a hard fought contest the south champions had a point to spare on a 0-6 to 1-2 scoreline. MacDonaghs led by a point at the interval but saw the post and the crossbar deprive them of certain goals in the opening half. Despite a spirited performance victory eluded them. Thanks to the panel and management team on a great year. Team: Niall Shinners, Arran Conroy, Rory McCarthy, Brendan McAdams, Kevin Shinners, Jerome Cahill, Paul Guidera, Darragh Peters, James Cleary, Kieran Brereton, Willie Ryan, Cian Darcy (0-2), Craig Morgan, Declan Elderfield and Roisin Cahill (1-0). Subs: Martin Grace and Conor Lillis.

Senior Hurling

The senior hurlers play Roscrea in Toomevara on this Saturday September 12th at 5.30 p.m. in the semi-final of the Seamus O Riain Cup.


The Lotto jackpot now stands at €10,000 Supporters are reminded that three tickets can be purchased for €5. The Lotto results are posted on the website every Wednesday morning and are also in the weekly Parish Newsletter.