U12 A County Champions 2014

26 Aug 2014 by Gilbert Williams

Kilruane MacDonaghs qualified for the county final with a 6-5 to 3-3 victory against Drom-Inch in Templederry. Scorers: David Sullivan (3-2), James Loughnane (2-0), Kevin McDonald (1-0), Páidí Williams, Cormac Doheny and Nathan Lynch (0-1) each.

MacDonaghs claimed the county title for the third time with a 2-8 to 2-4 victory against Knockavilla in an exciting final in Templemore. This was a very significant triumph as it was the 50th county title to come to the parish. MacDonaghs had the aid of the light breeze in the first half. Páidí Williams opened the scoring in the third minute when he lofted a 65 over the black spot. Knockavilla drew level in the eight minute. A minute later Aaron Morgan raised a white flag to edge Kilruane ahead. In the thirteenth minute James Loughnane was fouled and Páidí Williams made no mistake from the resultant free. Knockavilla struck a purple patch with a goal in the sixteenth minute, followed by a point from a free to put them two points ahead. The momentum was now with the West champions but MacDonaghs responded well as halftime approached. Páidí Williams fired over two frees to leave the sides deadlocked at the break.

MacDonaghs drew first blood in the second half when James Loughnane found the net with a shot that seemed to go in off the butt of the post. Aaron Morgan added a point and MacDonaghs were three ahead. Knockavilla replied with point from a 65. Kilruane responded with a similar effort from James Loughnane. The sliotar was bundled into Knockavilla net with David Sullivan getting the credit. Knockavilla began to exert more pressure and were rewarded with a goal to leave just three points between the sides. David Sullivan hit a crucial point to provide a four point cushion. The MacDonaghs defence absorbed late pressure and at the final whistle four points separated the sides.

After the game Joe Kennedy, chairman of the County Board, presented the trophy to captain David Sullivan. Congratulations to the entire panel and the management team of Christy Morgan, Michael O’Meara and Michael O’Neill.
Team: Rory Grace, Colm Cleary, Eoin O’Meara, Shane McAteer, Aaron Morgan (0-2), Páidí Williams (0-4), Nathan Lynch, Paul O’Neill, Cormac Doheny, David Sullivan (1-1) and James Loughnane (1-1). Sub: Kevin McDonald. Remainder of panel: Eoin Carroll, Oisín Carroll, Pádraic Coonan, Fionnan Hurley, Barry Shanahan, Ciaran Coffey, Paul Dwyer, Kevin Naughnane, Dara Hannon, Cian White, Georgie O’Leary, Oisín Williams and Luke Donnelly.

© 2023 Kilruane MacDonaghs GAA Club