Minor Hurling Round 1

16 Apr 2007 by Gilbert Williams

Minor Hurling
In the first round of the minor hurling championship Kilruane MacDonaghs secured a valuable away point against Nenagh with the final score Kilruane MacDonaghs 0-16 Nenagh 1-13. MacDonaghs experimented with captain Seamus Hennessy at full forward while Nenagh were without the influential Paddy Murphy. Kilruane opened impressively with two pointed frees from Seamus Hennessy with Justin Cahill adding one from play. Pat Conway chipped in with a point and Seamus Hennessy tapped over another free. Nenagh responded with their second point before Jason Darcy whipped over a point with a first time pull to restore the four point advantage.

At this stage Kilruane were in control and taking their scores. Nenagh came more into the game and scored the next three points without reply. The selectors reacted by moving Seamus Hennessy to midfield and putting Brian O Meara at the edge of the square. Seamus Hennessy sent over his fourth free before Nenagh hit the final point of the half to leave the score 0-7 to 0-6 in favour of MacDonaghs

Another point from a Seamus Hennessy free opened the second half scoring. Nenagh drew level before Seamus tapped over another free and a typical Jonathan Cahill run yielded another point. Nenagh gained parity once more before some good interplay by the forwards saw Seamus Hennessy put over a great point. Nenagh were back on terms once again when MacDonaghs hit a purple patch. A brace of points from Declan Barrett and one each from Seamus Hennessy and sub. Niall O Meara opened a four point gap.

Nenagh reduced the deficit to three before the inevitable goal arrived. On a number of occasions the Kilruane goal led a charmed life but was finally breached when Michael Heffernan raced through the centre of the defence to goal and bring the sides level. A pointed Seamus Hennessy free gave MacDonaghs a one point lead but Nenagh equalised in the final minute. Coincidentally Kilruane MacDonaghs began last year’s campaign with a draw against Burgess.

Team: Ger Corcoran, Cian Williams, Freddie Williams, Pádraig Kelly, Timmy Walsh, Thomas Williams, Keith Kelly, Declan Barrett (0-2), Kevin Ryan, Pat Conway (0-1), Jonathan Cahill (0-1), Brian O Meara, Justin Cahill (0-1), Seamus Hennessy ( Capt)(0-9, 8 frees & 1 from play) and Jason Darcy (0-1). Sub: Niall O Meara (0-1)

© 2023 Kilruane MacDonaghs GAA Club