County Community Games Champions 2012

05 Jun 2012 by Gilbert Williams

County Community Games Final

Semple Stadium Monday June 4th

Kilruane MacDonaghs 3-8 Cashel 5-1

The Kilruane MacDonaghs U-11 hurling team defeated Cashel on a 3-8 to 5-1 scoreline in Semple Stadium on Monday to capture the Community Games county title for the second time. The previous success was in 2009. Although only the minimum separated the sides at the finish, there was no denying that MacDonaghs were clearly the better team and they would not have been flattered by a much bigger winning margin. On the previous Thursday Kilruane had travelled to Thurles and overcome the home side by a point after an epic contest. In the county final they dominated possession from the off, with Dylan Moran starring at centre-back. However, the possession wasn’t translated into scores and it wasn’t until the seventh minute that MacDonaghs got off the mark when midfielder David Sullivan raised a white flag. Kian O’ Kelly took a pass from Matthew Moyles and fired over the second point. In the tenth minute Kian found the net and the outstanding Dylan Moran added a point to leave the score 1-3 to 0-0 with twelve minutes elapsed. MacDonaghs could have been out of sight at this stage but lacked a cutting edge in front of goal. In a rare foray into the Kilruane half Cashel raised a green flag and found themselves just four points adrift, having played second fiddle since the throw in. This goal helped them grow in confidence and they added a second goal and a point. Totally against the run of play, MacDonaghs found themselves a point in arrears. To their credit they remained composed and a point from Matthew Moyles brought the sides level. As both teams adjourned for the break Cashel must have wondered how they were still in the game while MacDonaghs must have reflected ruefully on the amount of possession that was squandered.

Kilruane hit the ground running in the second half and points from Matthew Moyles and Kian O’Kelly put them two ahead. Cashel responded immediately with a goal but there was an instant riposte from the boys in black and white when Aaron Morgan raised a green flag. Kian O’Kelly put MacDonaghs three ahead when he slotted over a point, after latching on to a cross from Aaron Morgan. Cashel hit back with their fourth goal and the sides were deadlocked once again. Kian O’Kelly drifted in towards full forward and from this position he helped himself to a goal and a point to give Kilruane a four point cushion. Cashel struck for their fifth goal and the lead was only a point. The MacDonaghs defence came under sustained pressure in the closing minutes but they resisted stubbornly without conceding a free which would have given Cashel an opportunity for an equalizer. Four minutes of injury time were added before Ger Fitzpatrick blew the final whistle to the delight of the large MacDonaghs following. Having defeated the large urban centres of Nenagh, Roscrea, Thurles and Cashel nobody could deny MacDonaghs right to be crowned the Community Games champions of Tipperary. This was an outstanding team performance with Dylan Moran giving a man of the match display in the number six jersey. David Sullivan and James Loughnane ruled the roost at mid-field. Kian O’Kelly was a constant threat in the attack and he finished top scorer with 2-4. Matthew Moyles had his best game of the season while Aaron Morgan was busy all through. After the game Billy Jones of Moneygall, chairman of the County Community Games Committee, presented the trophy to captain Louis Kennedy. The panel then adjourned to Supermacs for a well deserved treat. On the team’s return to Cloughjordan, the traditional cavalcade of cars made a tour of the village. Congratulations to the entire panel and the management team of Jody Hurley, Michael O’Neill, Martin Walsh and Michael Loughnane who have put in a tremendous amount of work since the start of the year. This was Kilruane MacDonaghs 48th county title and the sixth in three years. Team: Páidí Williams, Eoin O’Meara, Louis Kennedy, Paul O’Neill, Shane McAteer, Dylan Moran(0-1), Cormac Doheny, James Loughnane, David Sullivan (0-1), Matthew Moyles (0-2), Kiann O’Kelly (2-4), Aaron Morgan (1-0), Ben Cahalan, Nathan Lynch and Rory Grace. Subs: Daniel Costello, Colm Cleary, Barry Shanahan, Kevin McDonald and Oisín Carroll. Kilruane MacDonaghs now go on to represent Tipperary in the Munster championship.

© 2023 Kilruane MacDonaghs GAA Club